Alfa Quatro Buffered IDE?

A forum for Classic Amiga specific support issues.
Post Reply
natamix
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2015 1:09 am

Alfa Quatro Buffered IDE?

Post by natamix »

I have a piece of hardware, I think it is an Alfa Quatro Buffered IDE.
He wanted to know if it is compatible with A1200 and OS 4.1 FE clasic.
I'm a little afraid to cause a problem in the A1200 board before testing.
Attachments
DSCN1309.JPG
User avatar
danbeaver
Posts: 367
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 9:58 pm
Location: Someplace you'd rather not be
Contact:

Re: Alfa Quatro Buffered IDE?

Post by danbeaver »

That is not buffered (two diodes do not make a buffer), it simply allows 2 devices per channel on an IDE controller. It does work on my Amiga A4000T, although the OS seems to ignore it on occasion. I tell the OS that it is there during setup as it behaves like an IDEFix device (IDEFix software is required in OS3.9 to recognize devices on it).

As to whether it will work on the A1200 in OS4.1, is a good question since there are real buffered devices for this purpose http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/cat ... cts_id=194

But you would still have to check the Hardware Compatibility Web page: [http://www.hd-zone.com/2011/09/amigaos- ... lity-list/] where it states that, "4 port adapters IDEFix, EIDE99, FastATA (using scsi.device)" are compatible.

Aren't you glad Google is my friend?
natamix
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2015 1:09 am

Re: Alfa Quatro Buffered IDE?

Post by natamix »

Thanks for the help. It was strange to be Buffer.
The fact is that, in Big Book Amiga Hardware, by Alfa Data, only exists in the list, this.

Try tomorrow.
natamix
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2015 1:09 am

Re: Alfa Quatro Buffered IDE?

Post by natamix »

Does not work the IDE board 4-way.

Installing my OS 4.1 clasic, perfect process, but then not boot and a continuous reset, does not appear.
User avatar
danbeaver
Posts: 367
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 9:58 pm
Location: Someplace you'd rather not be
Contact:

Re: Alfa Quatro Buffered IDE?

Post by danbeaver »

The IDE interface on the A1200 is more basic than that of the A4000D/T; you will likely have better luck using one of the Buffered interfaces meant for the A1200
natamix
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2015 1:09 am

Re: Alfa Quatro Buffered IDE?

Post by natamix »

Thanks, but not express myself well.
I removed the small board.
I meant the installation of the OS. Correct installation process, but then will not start. From the Live CD, my system partition appears well.
Trying to solve.
natamix
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2015 1:09 am

Re: Alfa Quatro Buffered IDE?

Post by natamix »

Okis, solved. I could not install the file system (SFS) in the RDB. :D
But I solved. 4.1 starts perfect.

Maybe to try again to install the IDE splitter, now that the OS works.
Post Reply