Final Edition on A1200 fails

A forum for Classic Amiga specific support issues.
satiropan
Posts: 72
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 2:07 pm
Location: milano, Italia
Contact:

Final Edition on A1200 fails

Post by satiropan »

I have bought the FE for my Classic A1200, my set up is the one you read in my signature.
started it with the floppy included, managed to finish the installation with no problems, on the first partition of the hd, DH0 with SFS/02 file system.
at reboot, no boot
a message appears:

software failure
ramlib
program failed (error #80000008)
wait for disk activity to finish
suspend reboot

but both suspend and reboot give no solution
tried to boot with no startup, same result
what could I do?
thanx
Satiropan
PPA1200 (Poor Portable Amiga 1200): BPPC-160MB,
BVision-CGX4, HD 10GB, slim DVD R/W, Asus VW161D
display, 3COM Lan PC card, OS4.1FE
AmigaOne G3-SE 600MHz, 1GB, Radeon 9200 128DDR,
CS4281 sound card, RTL8029, SiI3114, OS 4.1.6 & OS4.1FE
http://www.oldfab.webs.com
satiropan
Posts: 72
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 2:07 pm
Location: milano, Italia
Contact:

Re: Final Edition on A1200 fails

Post by satiropan »

found a partial solution:
FE already installed, again I boot from floppy/cdrom, choose to start workbench from cd, go to the HD startup-sequence, uncomment the first line which is about FastATA that I don't have
take cd out
warm reboot, the system actually boots from the HD, full fledged FE :)
but it has worked only once :(
Satiropan
PPA1200 (Poor Portable Amiga 1200): BPPC-160MB,
BVision-CGX4, HD 10GB, slim DVD R/W, Asus VW161D
display, 3COM Lan PC card, OS4.1FE
AmigaOne G3-SE 600MHz, 1GB, Radeon 9200 128DDR,
CS4281 sound card, RTL8029, SiI3114, OS 4.1.6 & OS4.1FE
http://www.oldfab.webs.com
User avatar
davebraco
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 140
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 7:06 am
Location: Belgium

Re: Final Edition on A1200 fails

Post by davebraco »

Did you choose the right settings during the install process?

FastATA should not be enabled by default (nor idefix etc.)
µA1 256mo SATA -> lend to a dev
A1200PPC 256Mo MediatorTX Radeon9250 SATA RTL8029 SOLO-1
Sam440ep 533mhz 512mo 64Go SSD
Sam460ex 1150mhz 2Go RadeonHD 6570LP ENVY24HT
AmigaOne X1000 4Go SSD R9 270X Catweasel MK4
AmigaOne X5000 -> work in progress
satiropan
Posts: 72
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 2:07 pm
Location: milano, Italia
Contact:

Re: Final Edition on A1200 fails

Post by satiropan »

davebraco wrote:Did you choose the right settings during the install process?

FastATA should not be enabled by default (nor idefix etc.)
of course I have not enabled it since I have the plain A1200 ide interface
I have now seen that the boot workaround (booting FE floppy/cd then warm reset) that worked only one time now works again, and without uncommenting the first line in startup-sequence
anyway I will try a new installation with the fastata enabled, you never know...
Satiropan
PPA1200 (Poor Portable Amiga 1200): BPPC-160MB,
BVision-CGX4, HD 10GB, slim DVD R/W, Asus VW161D
display, 3COM Lan PC card, OS4.1FE
AmigaOne G3-SE 600MHz, 1GB, Radeon 9200 128DDR,
CS4281 sound card, RTL8029, SiI3114, OS 4.1.6 & OS4.1FE
http://www.oldfab.webs.com
satiropan
Posts: 72
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 2:07 pm
Location: milano, Italia
Contact:

Re: Final Edition on A1200 fails

Post by satiropan »

I have started from scratch,
installed 3.9 from emergency floppy/cd on partition dh0, FFS since SFS is not seen
no problems at all
regular boot and the floppy icon is on WB, floppy is listed in early boot menu.
I start installation of 4.1FE, it's the same wheather I start from FE floppy/cd or just from cd using the 'install from 3.x' script
in the pre-install requester, the Amiga Technologies floppy is automatically enabled, stating that is so because the installer has not found the floppy (even if the machine booted from floppy/cd)
if I stop installing and do a warm reset, in the early startup menu, which is now the one from the FE kickstart, the floppy is not listed
same behaviour with a 4.0 installation
so I understand now that it is problem of kickstart modules, also for the ramlib problem I described earlier.
any ideas?
in the while I'll do some more tests, and finally I will try another motherboard, I have 3 of them
Satiropan
PPA1200 (Poor Portable Amiga 1200): BPPC-160MB,
BVision-CGX4, HD 10GB, slim DVD R/W, Asus VW161D
display, 3COM Lan PC card, OS4.1FE
AmigaOne G3-SE 600MHz, 1GB, Radeon 9200 128DDR,
CS4281 sound card, RTL8029, SiI3114, OS 4.1.6 & OS4.1FE
http://www.oldfab.webs.com
satiropan
Posts: 72
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 2:07 pm
Location: milano, Italia
Contact:

Re: Final Edition on A1200 fails

Post by satiropan »

SOLVED
following what is inside the answer to question 1.9 in Classic_FAQ.pdf on the FE cdrom
I must say that if they had written on the instructions leaflet: PLEASE READ Classic_FAQ.pdf BEFORE INSTALLING, it would have saved me a lot of anxiety, lost sleep hours and headache!
BTW, boot partition must be inside the first 4GB of HD, and you have to see that the file system loaded in the RDB is the same as the one you will choose for the boot partition.
clicking on "Edit partitions and filesystems" in the partition window of media toolbox, you can add what file system you need in the RDB and as soon as you have loaded it, click on it and check that the dostype figure is as explained, 444F5307 for FFS and 53465300 for SFS/00 (SFS/02 is not listed in L directory, I don't know whether it has the same dostype as SFS/00).
save, choose the proper file system, proper maxtransfer and mask, save, reboot and install
then FE starts from HD with no problem, and as a bonus, the floppy is finally recognized and you see its icon on WB!
Satiropan
PPA1200 (Poor Portable Amiga 1200): BPPC-160MB,
BVision-CGX4, HD 10GB, slim DVD R/W, Asus VW161D
display, 3COM Lan PC card, OS4.1FE
AmigaOne G3-SE 600MHz, 1GB, Radeon 9200 128DDR,
CS4281 sound card, RTL8029, SiI3114, OS 4.1.6 & OS4.1FE
http://www.oldfab.webs.com
User avatar
davebraco
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 140
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 7:06 am
Location: Belgium

Re: Final Edition on A1200 fails

Post by davebraco »

Glad you solved it!

I found in your signature that you're using a 3COM in the 1200 and a RTL8029 in the AOne. Does the 3COM works in the AOne? Otherwise, you could swap both cards.
µA1 256mo SATA -> lend to a dev
A1200PPC 256Mo MediatorTX Radeon9250 SATA RTL8029 SOLO-1
Sam440ep 533mhz 512mo 64Go SSD
Sam460ex 1150mhz 2Go RadeonHD 6570LP ENVY24HT
AmigaOne X1000 4Go SSD R9 270X Catweasel MK4
AmigaOne X5000 -> work in progress
satiropan
Posts: 72
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 2:07 pm
Location: milano, Italia
Contact:

Re: Final Edition on A1200 fails

Post by satiropan »

davebraco wrote:Glad you solved it!

I found in your signature that you're using a 3COM in the 1200 and a RTL8029 in the AOne. Does the 3COM works in the AOne? Otherwise, you could swap both cards.
the 3com is a pcmcia card, the rtl is pci, I don't have mediator on the a1200. the 3com chip on my AOne has been desoldered waiting to reballing it, but I have not yet decided to do it, so in the while I use the RTL
Satiropan
PPA1200 (Poor Portable Amiga 1200): BPPC-160MB,
BVision-CGX4, HD 10GB, slim DVD R/W, Asus VW161D
display, 3COM Lan PC card, OS4.1FE
AmigaOne G3-SE 600MHz, 1GB, Radeon 9200 128DDR,
CS4281 sound card, RTL8029, SiI3114, OS 4.1.6 & OS4.1FE
http://www.oldfab.webs.com
User avatar
davebraco
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 140
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 7:06 am
Location: Belgium

Re: Final Edition on A1200 fails

Post by davebraco »

Undestood. Enjoy the Final Edition on your miggies!
µA1 256mo SATA -> lend to a dev
A1200PPC 256Mo MediatorTX Radeon9250 SATA RTL8029 SOLO-1
Sam440ep 533mhz 512mo 64Go SSD
Sam460ex 1150mhz 2Go RadeonHD 6570LP ENVY24HT
AmigaOne X1000 4Go SSD R9 270X Catweasel MK4
AmigaOne X5000 -> work in progress
User avatar
DarrenHD
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 635
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 3:38 pm
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: Final Edition on A1200 fails

Post by DarrenHD »

satiropan wrote:SOLVED
following what is inside the answer to question 1.9 in Classic_FAQ.pdf on the FE cdrom
I must say that if they had written on the instructions leaflet: PLEASE READ Classic_FAQ.pdf BEFORE INSTALLING, it would have saved me a lot of anxiety, lost sleep hours and headache!
BTW, boot partition must be inside the first 4GB of HD, and you have to see that the file system loaded in the RDB is the same as the one you will choose for the boot partition.
clicking on "Edit partitions and filesystems" in the partition window of media toolbox, you can add what file system you need in the RDB and as soon as you have loaded it, click on it and check that the dostype figure is as explained, 444F5307 for FFS and 53465300 for SFS/00 (SFS/02 is not listed in L directory, I don't know whether it has the same dostype as SFS/00).
save, choose the proper file system, proper maxtransfer and mask, save, reboot and install
then FE starts from HD with no problem, and as a bonus, the floppy is finally recognized and you see its icon on WB!
I'm glad my FAQ helped at least one user :) It should be required reading I think ;-) Lots of help and info in the FAQ! I know I spent hours/days/months/years to get to the current version ;-)

Darren
AmigaOS 4.x Beta Tester - Classic Amiga enthusiast - http://www.hd-zone.com is my Amiga Blog, check it out!
Post Reply