Running 68xxx Games & Apps in Amiga OS 4.1u5

A forum for general AmigaOS 4.x support questions that are not platform-specific
User avatar
vox
Posts: 173
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2011 2:19 pm
Location: Belgrade Country:Serbia
Contact:

Re: Running 68xxx Games & Apps in Amiga OS 4.1u5

Post by vox »

amigasociety wrote:I am awaiting back Chris response that was made before yours. Appears mine did not have it installed.

Hopefully it is on the CD they sent me?

If not, I will take their direction to download or whatever and see what happens.

AmigaKit (Chris), let me know best and easiest way to get RunInUAE on my X1000.

Thanks

TJ
Sorry, I forget you have the CD issue.
While its possible to get needed files for UAE (RunInUAE, EUAE from OS4 depot, Amiga kickstart files from other sources)
most legal ways to get last ones, and to get it working out of charm is to use your OS 4.1.5 CD for X1000
------------------------------------------
Future MOS user pon SAM460ex
https://www.facebook.com/rasvoja
https://www.youtube.com/user/rasvoja
http://socdevelopment.wordpress.com/
User avatar
Christopher Follett
AmigaKit
AmigaKit
Posts: 650
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2011 5:56 pm
Location: Wales, UK
Contact:

Re: Running 68xxx Games & Apps in Amiga OS 4.1u5

Post by Christopher Follett »

amigasociety wrote:I am awaiting back Chris response that was made before yours. Appears mine did not have it installed.

Hopefully it is on the CD they sent me?

If not, I will take their direction to download or whatever and see what happens.

AmigaKit (Chris), let me know best and easiest way to get RunInUAE on my X1000.

Thanks

TJ
I will have to check on CD, as I know they are ready and we have them.
Im pretty sure one was sent out to you. If you have it, insert it and go to install extras's. It will list it there and click install.
Resolute and Industrious
Grand ruler of the yellow people and the Ultimate Amiga Empire
http://www.ultimateamiga.co.uk (Home of SONY PSP Amiga Emulator and AMOS Factory)
__________________
Customer Help & Support: http://www.amigakit.com/help

http://www.amigakit.com - the Amiga store

New Products
User avatar
amigasociety
Posts: 306
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2012 7:09 pm
Location: Northern California
Contact:

Re: Running 68xxx Games & Apps in Amiga OS 4.1u5

Post by amigasociety »

Yes the CD has arrived. Will check the CD.

Tj
Happy owner of several Amiga systems including:

AmigaOne X5000
Amiga A1222 Tabor
User avatar
amigasociety
Posts: 306
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2012 7:09 pm
Location: Northern California
Contact:

Re: Running 68xxx Games & Apps in Amiga OS 4.1u5

Post by amigasociety »

Yes it appears that RunInUAE was not installed on my X1000fc system but the Amiga OS 4.1u5 CD that just arrived had the installer. Installed and I was able to get 1 of a couple 68xxx apps to run under it so all is as it should be now.

tj
Happy owner of several Amiga systems including:

AmigaOne X5000
Amiga A1222 Tabor
hotrod
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2011 10:17 pm

Re: Running 68xxx Games & Apps in Amiga OS 4.1u5

Post by hotrod »

To keep it simple, if it's a disk-image like ADF or if it's a whdload installed game then you can just doubleclick its icon and it will launch through RunInUAE. If you got a single 68k-file that you'd like to run AOS 4 and RunInUAE cannot know how you'd like to run it, you need to make that choise yourself. You can always try to run a program in AOS 4 first like you did and if it doesn't work then you run it in RunInUAE. The easiest way would be to start RunInUAE and drag the icon to the window and it will launch in UAE.

Games and demoes made for classic Amigas will most likely require the classic chipset and need UAE to run.

Check out RunInUAEs docs since there are some usefull information there. I've set it up to use "scanlines" to simulate an old CRT-monitor which makes games look better and I've changed the settings to use the Competition Pro joystick instead of keyboard for playing games. You can also change the speed for loading ADF-files to something faster than the original speed (which might not work as mentioned in the docs).
Post Reply