copy - strange behaviour when using shell

A forum for general AmigaOS 4.x support questions that are not platform-specific
User avatar
Raziel
Posts: 980
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 4:00 pm
Location: a dying planet

Re: copy - strange behaviour when using shell

Post by Raziel »

tonyw wrote:Actually, a cut 'n' paste from that last quote shows the problem just fine.

What happens is that the console (once it has received the SO (Shift Out) character), adds 0x80 to every character before it is displayed, thus in effect selecting an alternate character set. This state is reset by a SI (Shift In) issued by the Shell before every command prompt.

Thanks.
Can it be "fixed" (for a copy operation at least)?

If i understand it right it isn't a bug per se, but triggered by those special char 0 byte files.
If you would need them for further testing i could try to pack the archive and send it your way?
People are dying.
Entire ecosystems are collapsing.
We are in the beginning of a mass extinction.
And all you can talk about is money and fairytales of eternal economic growth.
How dare you!
– Greta Thunberg
User avatar
tonyw
AmigaOS Core Developer
AmigaOS Core Developer
Posts: 1438
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 1:36 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: copy - strange behaviour when using shell

Post by tonyw »

No, it can't be fixed, there is nothing wrong.

The behaviour is according to the ANSI standard.
cheers
tony
User avatar
Raziel
Posts: 980
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 4:00 pm
Location: a dying planet

Re: copy - strange behaviour when using shell

Post by Raziel »

tonyw wrote:No, it can't be fixed, there is nothing wrong.

The behaviour is according to the ANSI standard.
Okidoki

Then i get rid of those bad files

Thank you
People are dying.
Entire ecosystems are collapsing.
We are in the beginning of a mass extinction.
And all you can talk about is money and fairytales of eternal economic growth.
How dare you!
– Greta Thunberg
User avatar
Slayer
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 851
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 4:19 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: copy - strange behaviour when using shell

Post by Slayer »

Perhaps put them in archive?

Tar then Bz2 ;)

Used to be the way I'd store everything once lzx was discontinued, Tar was good for recognising softlinks and have the -h switch that write the actual file not the softlink if desired, worse for space for sure but more portable? but I'm wondering way of topic here!
~Yes I am a Kiwi, No, I did not appear as an extra in 'Lord of the Rings'~
1x AmigaOne X5000 2.0GHz 2gM RadeonR9280X AOS4.x
3x AmigaOne X1000 1.8GHz 2gM RadeonHD7970 AOS4.x
User avatar
nbache
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 1481
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:25 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Contact:

Re: copy - strange behaviour when using shell

Post by nbache »

Raziel wrote:Can it be "fixed" (for a copy operation at least)?
Of course. The fix is to use the QUIET switch in your copy command ;-).

Best regards,

Niels
User avatar
Slayer
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 851
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 4:19 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: copy - strange behaviour when using shell

Post by Slayer »

lol

too easy nbache!
~Yes I am a Kiwi, No, I did not appear as an extra in 'Lord of the Rings'~
1x AmigaOne X5000 2.0GHz 2gM RadeonR9280X AOS4.x
3x AmigaOne X1000 1.8GHz 2gM RadeonHD7970 AOS4.x
User avatar
tonyw
AmigaOS Core Developer
AmigaOS Core Developer
Posts: 1438
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 1:36 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: copy - strange behaviour when using shell

Post by tonyw »

Damn! Why didn't I think of that?

On ya, Niels!
cheers
tony
Post Reply