Windows creation on AmigaOS

A forum for general AmigaOS 4.x support questions that are not platform-specific
Post Reply
User avatar
samo79
Posts: 555
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2011 11:13 pm
Location: Italy

Windows creation on AmigaOS

Post by samo79 »

Now that the first beta of Timberwolf is out i think it's time to ask for some specific and important features request that maybe (hopefully) can be added for the next big OS4 release (4.2) ..

As you know actually Timberwolf but also all QT applications window will be opened minimized or have problems with the auto positioning and so on (At startup Timberwolf will be opened at the top of the screen too)

About this problem Rogue say:
That's the way Mozilla creates windows. It creates them with a 0 by 0 size and then resizes them. A bit strange, maybe, but I consider it a minor issue. AmigaOS can not create 0 x 0 windows, so I need to create a 1 x 1 (inner width) window and that includes the decoration already. I might at a later point hide windows with 0 size until they are resized to their nominal size.
http://www.amigans.net/modules/xforum/v ... pe=&mode=0

I don't understand if that can be fixed playing with the Firefox code but i almost sure that it can't with QT without improving AmigaOS, so would be good if OS4 can be able to handle that kind of window at the same of the current Reaction/MUI windows

Of course this is not the only problem we have, another big issue is the very slow startup time when we start apps using big SOBjs libraries, again this problem afflict both Timberwolf and of course any other QT applications ..

So even if problems are different and can be split in 2 separated request, both of them need an urgent fix/improvement !
chris
Posts: 552
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 11:05 am
Contact:

Re: Windows creation on AmigaOS

Post by chris »

samo79 wrote: I don't understand if that can be fixed playing with the Firefox code but i almost sure that it can't with QT without improving AmigaOS, so would be good if OS4 can be able to handle that kind of window at the same of the current Reaction/MUI windows
The problem with Qt was fixed ages ago - Qt creates the windows "off-screen", which AmigaOS does not support. Alfkil modified the code so they aren't created until they are changed to a visible position/size.

I would say we need to fix all the crazy OSs that seem to want windows created that aren't visible :-) but as that isn't possible, fixing the GUI toolkits to work around this behaviour is better than bodging Intuition to cope with them.
User avatar
tonyw
AmigaOS Core Developer
AmigaOS Core Developer
Posts: 1438
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 1:36 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Windows creation on AmigaOS

Post by tonyw »

I don't see the problem (no pun intended). You can open a window "hidden" (several OS components already do it), adjust the size, then turn off the "hidden" attribute.

It's an easy way to find out exactly what the window dimensions are going to be. You don't know how thick the borders are going to be, so if you specify the inner width/height, the outer width/height may be too big, etc. Open it "hidden", adjust the size if necessary, then show it in all its glory.
cheers
tony
User avatar
samo79
Posts: 555
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2011 11:13 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Windows creation on AmigaOS

Post by samo79 »

chris wrote:The problem with Qt was fixed ages ago - Qt creates the windows "off-screen", which AmigaOS does not support. Alfkil modified the code so they aren't created until they are changed to a visible position/size.
You are right, it seems i used the old version :?
I've also installed the latest but into another partition so i confuse the old one with the latest :mrgreen:

Aniway while is fixed and better in general this "fix" caused more slowdown at startup (or when i open for example the various about windows for the demos/examples), not too mutch as at the end all still slow in general ... let's see if Alfkil will be able make some speedup with the next release ;)
chris
Posts: 552
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 11:05 am
Contact:

Re: Windows creation on AmigaOS

Post by chris »

tonyw wrote:I don't see the problem (no pun intended). You can open a window "hidden" (several OS components already do it), adjust the size, then turn off the "hidden" attribute.
The problem is with the way these third party components do the hiding - they arent actually telling the OS to hide or show the window, they are expecting it to not show a window of dimensions 0x0, or be able to open a window off-screen. Intuition doesn't do these things, but why should it? You can hide/show windows explicitly without resorting to these mad tricks. I'd argue that Intuition forcing windows to be visible even if that wasn't the intended behaviour of the application, is an advantage as you don't suddenly get windows disappearing or (more likely) not appearing due to coding errors, with no way of the user easily fixing it. I've seen this so many times on Windows it's unreal.

So I agree with you. The third party components need to be fixed to do things properly, not the OS.
User avatar
Slayer
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 851
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 4:19 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: Windows creation on AmigaOS

Post by Slayer »

chris wrote: So I agree with you. The third party components need to be fixed to do things properly, not the OS.
Then cool another thread by the "select few" that always dabble in the _abstract_ settled then ;)
~Yes I am a Kiwi, No, I did not appear as an extra in 'Lord of the Rings'~
1x AmigaOne X5000 2.0GHz 2gM RadeonR9280X AOS4.x
3x AmigaOne X1000 1.8GHz 2gM RadeonHD7970 AOS4.x
Post Reply