(Auto)Switch-off monitor bug (ScreenBlanker)

A forum for general AmigaOS 4.x support questions that are not platform-specific
User avatar
samo79
Posts: 552
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2011 11:13 pm
Location: Italy

Re: (Auto)Switch-off monitor bug (ScreenBlanker)

Post by samo79 »

A related issue can be reproduced also in this method:

- Open a video player like DvPlayer (but MPlayer should be the same)
- Drag a video into it and the put it in "pause"
- Wait some minutes until your screen will turned off (black screen)
- Now try to move your mouse in order to reactivate your screen

Here the screen remain black forever so the only way is to power off the machine

Tested on this platform:

Sam440 Flex 800
AmigaOS 4.1 Update 6 + all latest updates from AmiUpdate
ATI Radeon 9250 128 MB (64 bit)

User avatar
Christopher Follett
AmigaKit
AmigaKit
Posts: 650
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2011 5:56 pm
Location: Wales, UK
Contact:

Re: (Auto)Switch-off monitor bug (ScreenBlanker)

Post by Christopher Follett »

samo79 wrote:A related issue can be reproduced also in this method:

- Open a video player like DvPlayer (but MPlayer should be the same)
- Drag a video into it and the put it in "pause"
- Wait some minutes until your screen will turned off (black screen)
- Now try to move your mouse in order to reactivate your screen

Here the screen remain black forever so the only way is to power off the machine

Tested on this platform:

Sam440 Flex 800
AmigaOS 4.1 Update 6 + all latest updates from AmiUpdate
ATI Radeon 9250 128 MB (64 bit)
You mention only moving mouse. This has never worked for me on any OS4.1 machine. I always had to press ESC, then it would come out of standby.
Resolute and Industrious
Grand ruler of the yellow people and the Ultimate Amiga Empire
http://www.ultimateamiga.co.uk (Home of SONY PSP Amiga Emulator and AMOS Factory)
__________________
Customer Help & Support: http://www.amigakit.com/help

http://www.amigakit.com - the Amiga store

New Products

User avatar
samo79
Posts: 552
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2011 11:13 pm
Location: Italy

Re: (Auto)Switch-off monitor bug (ScreenBlanker)

Post by samo79 »

@Christopher Follett

Right i didn't know that, tested and it works as expected ;-)

But can say it's not so userfriedly as solution because without any of that video program opened you will be able to reactivate your screen also using the mouse
So can we open an enhancement request ?

When the video output is busy and you like to reactivate the screen after a black one, be able to use the ESC key and the mouse movement aswell

User avatar
nbache
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 1427
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:25 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Contact:

Re: (Auto)Switch-off monitor bug (ScreenBlanker)

Post by nbache »

In the ScreenBlanker prefs, on the last tab page (Misc), there is a checkbox "Ignore mouse when in DPMS mode". Maybe you have that selected?

Best regards,

Niels

User avatar
samo79
Posts: 552
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2011 11:13 pm
Location: Italy

Re: (Auto)Switch-off monitor bug (ScreenBlanker)

Post by samo79 »

nbache wrote:In the ScreenBlanker prefs, on the last tab page (Misc), there is a checkbox "Ignore mouse when in DPMS mode". Maybe you have that selected?
Mmm just checked and the option is NOT selected

User avatar
samo79
Posts: 552
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2011 11:13 pm
Location: Italy

Re: (Auto)Switch-off monitor bug (ScreenBlanker)

Post by samo79 »

Exit from standby mode works fine pressing ESC, but how about adding an option for exit from it with a simple mouse movement ? ;)
Well.. this is a feature request 8-)

User avatar
nbache
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 1427
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:25 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Contact:

Re: (Auto)Switch-off monitor bug (ScreenBlanker)

Post by nbache »

samo79 wrote:Exit from standby mode works fine pressing ESC, but how about adding an option for exit from it with a simple mouse movement ? ;)
Well.. this is a feature request 8-)
That feature is the default behaviour of the screenblanker engine. It works fine here, when I have the previously mentioned checkbox unchecked. I have just retested it.

Best regards,

Niels

User avatar
samo79
Posts: 552
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2011 11:13 pm
Location: Italy

Re: (Auto)Switch-off monitor bug (ScreenBlanker)

Post by samo79 »

nbache wrote:That feature is the default behaviour of the screenblanker engine. It works fine here, when I have the previously mentioned checkbox unchecked. I have just retested it.
Mmm i have to correct myself .. in some case it doesn't work at all neither pressing ESC ..
Please try as is:

1 - Open a video with DvPlayer/MPlayer
2 - Put it in pause
3 - Wait until the screen will be switched off completely
4 - Now try to reactive the screen (with mouse or even pressing ESC)

Normally in works, but if you have a video opened on Workbench still NOT .. seems a bug ...

User avatar
nbache
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 1427
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:25 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Contact:

Re: (Auto)Switch-off monitor bug (ScreenBlanker)

Post by nbache »

samo79 wrote:Normally in works, but if you have a video opened on Workbench still NOT .. seems a bug ...
Hmm, I see.

I just tested that situation (using DVPlayer), and it still came out of blanking fine for me. I tried it both after the biggest delay where the display was turned completely off and after the first delay where the graphical blanker was active. And I also tested it both under the current beta and under the current public system. No problems.

Have you maybe done something special about task priorities, e.g. set the video player up in priority or something?

Best regards,

Niels

User avatar
samo79
Posts: 552
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2011 11:13 pm
Location: Italy

Re: (Auto)Switch-off monitor bug (ScreenBlanker)

Post by samo79 »

@nbache
Have you maybe done something special about task priorities, e.g. set the video player up in priority or something?
No absolutely, i didn't change the task priorities ..

Eventually is there any other place we can check ?
.. and just a curiosity, what OS4 machine are you using for this test ?

P.S.
Thanks for help !

Post Reply