BUG: Selecting file by its letter using keyboard

A forum for general AmigaOS 4.x support questions that are not platform-specific
User avatar
MichaelMerkel
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 347
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 2:08 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: BUG: Selecting file by its letter using keyboard

Post by MichaelMerkel »

prefect. that's the solution.
and 3 seconds is WAY too much.
1 second is almost ok.

regards...
michael
Michael Merkel :lol:
(Member of Amiga Freunde Pfalz)

User avatar
nbache
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 1455
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:25 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Contact:

Re: BUG: Selecting file by its letter using keyboard

Post by nbache »

Guys, it's just a prefs setting. Change it and save it if you prefer another setting :-D (BTW, I think it was hard-coded to 3 secs already in WB 3.1, the prefs option only came with 3.5).

How often do you actually find yourself highlighting first one icon, then another, for a "real" purpose (other than "playing around")?

If some effort should be used in this area, I would much prefer if it were used on documenting the behaviour, so users are aware of it. At least I didn't find anything in the Documentation drawer about it.

Best regards,

Niels

User avatar
tonyw
AmigaOS Core Developer
AmigaOS Core Developer
Posts: 1426
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 1:36 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: BUG: Selecting file by its letter using keyboard

Post by tonyw »

Never knew that. Thanks, Niels.
cheers
tony

User avatar
broadblues
AmigaOS Core Developer
AmigaOS Core Developer
Posts: 591
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 2:40 am
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Contact:

Re: BUG: Selecting file by its letter using keyboard

Post by broadblues »

samo79 wrote:
The time you have to wait in such a case is actually definable in Workbench Prefs, on the first tab, upper right section. It's called Restart delay. Mine's set to three seconds (which I believe to be the default).
All right, now the behaviour is more or less clear, altrough i found this default setting (as 3 seconds) to be almost unlogical even considering how it works elsewhere ... how about set this as 1 second by default ?
Of course first would be interesting to know what other users think, if they are ok with that current default setting or if they prefer a quicker method to select files with keyboard, i'm for opening a ticket for change this ;)
I hardly ever use this feature, but if I did I have several icons on the WB with many letter in common at the start, the longer delay makes it viable to type the needed letters whilst visibly checking which icon was hilighted.

User avatar
samo79
Posts: 554
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2011 11:13 pm
Location: Italy

Re: BUG: Selecting file by its letter using keyboard

Post by samo79 »

MichaelMerkel wrote:prefect. that's the solution.
and 3 seconds is WAY too much.
1 second is almost ok.

regards...
michael
Yep actually 1 second is the minimum, i will vote for improving the feature in order to set even less time .. 0.5 ;)
nbache what do you think to open a ticket for this feature request ? :-)

User avatar
nbache
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 1455
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:25 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Contact:

Re: BUG: Selecting file by its letter using keyboard

Post by nbache »

No, as stated above, and seconded by broadblues, I don't believe it is a good idea, and furthermore not worth using developer time on. Did you read my post above?

Best regards,

Niels

User avatar
daveyw
Posts: 237
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2011 7:44 pm

Re: BUG: Selecting file by its letter using keyboard

Post by daveyw »

nbache wrote:Did you read my post above?
I think samo was being sarcastic. ;)

User avatar
nbache
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 1455
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:25 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Contact:

Re: BUG: Selecting file by its letter using keyboard

Post by nbache »

If so, sorry, I missed that.

Best regards,

Niels

User avatar
Amigo1
Posts: 221
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2012 3:32 pm

Re: BUG: Selecting file by its letter using keyboard

Post by Amigo1 »

nbache wrote:If so, sorry, I missed that.

Best regards,

Niels
Thanks for your reply. I just tried your configuration, but no luck here, the X1000 is stuck at the A-EON X1000 boot screen.

User avatar
nbache
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 1455
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:25 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Contact:

Re: BUG: Selecting file by its letter using keyboard

Post by nbache »

Err ... does this response actually belong in another thread?

Best regards,

Niels

Post Reply