Beret freeze

A forum for general AmigaOS 4.x support questions that are not platform-specific
Post Reply
User avatar
Ribdevil
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2011 7:11 pm

Beret freeze

Post by Ribdevil »

Hi everybody.
I have problems with two programs, the games beret and freedroidrpg.
Both programs start well and after a few seconds the computer crashes, having to reset the computer.
It only happens to me with those two games, the rest works great, even more powerful and heavy games, like the Quake modules of Huno ( great work guy ), like Return Castle Wolfnstein, etc.
Any ideas ?
How can I monitor those programs to see the cause ?
All help is good.

Thank you.

Virginio

User avatar
javierdlr
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 379
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 10:13 pm
Location: Donostia (GUIPUZCOA) - Spain
Contact:

Re: Beret freeze

Post by javierdlr »

Yu can get serial crashlog (GrimpReaper or by using c:dumpdebugbuffer) or systems just freezes and you can only hard-reset system?

Snoopy maybe shows you if some resource (sobjs. libs,..) is missing.

User avatar
Ribdevil
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2011 7:11 pm

Re: Beret freeze

Post by Ribdevil »

I only can make a hard reset or shootdown the system.

:(

Virginio

capehill
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2017 1:07 pm

Re: Beret freeze

Post by capehill »

What system do you have? How much free VRAM you have before starting the game?

How much stack do you have? Note that there are separate stack parameters for shell and WB applications. Try increasing the stack value.

If possible, try experimenting with fullscreen/window modes.

User avatar
Ribdevil
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2011 7:11 pm

Re: Beret freeze

Post by Ribdevil »

My System is :
AmigaOne X5000
AmigaOS 4.1 FE prerelease
AMD Radeon R9-270 1Gb
RAM 4 GB

After the star WB shows 1,776 Gb Free RAM and 219 Kb Free Video Ram

I try incresed the stack, but same results.

:(

User avatar
Raziel
Posts: 927
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 4:00 pm
Location: a dying planet

Re: Beret freeze

Post by Raziel »

Ribdevil wrote:My System is :
AmigaOne X5000
AmigaOS 4.1 FE prerelease
AMD Radeon R9-270 1Gb
RAM 4 GB

After the star WB shows 1,776 Gb Free RAM and 219 Kb Free Video Ram

I try incresed the stack, but same results.

:(
Did you maybe mean 218 MB Gfx Ram?
If not, there's your problem, with 219 KB no game will run ... for long, if ever

I just tried "Beret" and it works fine.

Finished the first level with everything collected.

The only thing that is special about this game is that it's probing my catweasel for joysticks...i don't have any, but it keeps polling it which produces a little "hiccup" in the audio playback all 15 seconds or so (annyoing)...maybe that's what causing it for you to crash?
People are dying.
Entire ecosystems are collapsing.
We are in the beginning of a mass extinction.
And all you can talk about is money and fairytales of eternal economic growth.
How dare you!
– Greta Thunberg

User avatar
Ribdevil
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2011 7:11 pm

Re: Beret freeze

Post by Ribdevil »

Yes, 218 Mb, my fault.
Beret now works, increase the stack, and now it works correctly, but I still have problems with "freedroidrpg".

Thanks for the answers.

A greeting.

Virginio

Post Reply