Preparing a new HD for installing 0S4.1 FE

A forum for general AmigaOS 4.x support questions that are not platform-specific
Post Reply
JosDuchIt
Posts: 291
Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2011 5:47 pm
Contact:

Preparing a new HD for installing 0S4.1 FE

Post by JosDuchIt »

Guidance on this? URL?

When on mediatoolbox you hit install, then on rdb editing install again you are asked to select AmigaOne boot code
= SLB—v2 ?
xenic
Posts: 1165
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 12:06 am

Re: Preparing a new HD for installing 0S4.1 FE

Post by xenic »

JosDuchIt wrote:Guidance on this? URL?

When on mediatoolbox you hit install, then on rdb editing install again you are asked to select AmigaOne boot code
= SLB—v2 ?
I would also like to know the answer to that for X5000. Some systems have SLB, X1000 has amigaboot.of and I don't see any boot file for X5000.
AmigaOne X1000 with 2GB memory - OS4.1 FE
Spectre660
Posts: 1494
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 2:16 pm
Location: Montserrat

Re: Preparing a new HD for installing 0S4.1 FE

Post by Spectre660 »

Yes for Sam440 and Sam460 .
JosDuchIt wrote:Guidance on this? URL?

When on mediatoolbox you hit install, then on rdb editing install again you are asked to select AmigaOne boot code
= SLB—v2 ?
Spectre660
Posts: 1494
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 2:16 pm
Location: Montserrat

Re: Preparing a new HD for installing 0S4.1 FE

Post by Spectre660 »

for X5000 the boot code is on the microsd card .
(X5000 manual page 10)
xenic wrote:
JosDuchIt wrote:Guidance on this? URL?

When on mediatoolbox you hit install, then on rdb editing install again you are asked to select AmigaOne boot code
= SLB—v2 ?
I would also like to know the answer to that for X5000. Some systems have SLB, X1000 has amigaboot.of and I don't see any boot file for X5000.
xenic
Posts: 1165
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 12:06 am

Re: Preparing a new HD for installing 0S4.1 FE

Post by xenic »

Spectre660 wrote:for X5000 the boot code is on the microsd card .
(X5000 manual page 10)
In that case, what do you enter for AmigaOne boot code in the Edit RDB window of MTB??
AmigaOne X1000 with 2GB memory - OS4.1 FE
Spectre660
Posts: 1494
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 2:16 pm
Location: Montserrat

Re: Preparing a new HD for installing 0S4.1 FE

Post by Spectre660 »

The X5000 boot drive does not need any "A1 booter "so don't install anything.
xenic wrote:
Spectre660 wrote:for X5000 the boot code is on the microsd card .
(X5000 manual page 10)
In that case, what do you enter for AmigaOne boot code in the Edit RDB window of MTB??
Attachments
Sam460ex
Sam460ex
X5000
X5000
User avatar
tonyw
AmigaOS Core Developer
AmigaOS Core Developer
Posts: 1445
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 1:36 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Preparing a new HD for installing 0S4.1 FE

Post by tonyw »

xenic wrote:In that case, what do you enter for AmigaOne boot code in the Edit RDB window of MTB??
As Spectre660 said, the SLB was only used on the SEs, XEs, µA1, Sam 440s and 460s. No other platform used it and it's not required in any modern machine.
cheers
tony
User avatar
Elwood
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 6:57 pm
Location: Lyon, France
Contact:

Re: Preparing a new HD for installing 0S4.1 FE

Post by Elwood »

JosDuchIt wrote:Guidance on this? URL?
With your OS4 CD, you have an "Installation guide" that explains this, under "Harddisk setup with Media Toolbox". It should explains it for all machines with Uboot.
For machines based on Open Firmware, you may find enough information here: http://www.amedia-computer.com/amiga/do ... nglish.pdf
Philippe "Elwood" Ferrucci
Sam460 owner
AmigaOS 4 betatester
Post Reply