CheckBox spacing at end

A forum for general AmigaOS 4.x support questions that are not platform-specific
Post Reply
User avatar
mritter0
Posts: 214
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2014 9:41 pm
Location: Bettendorf, IA, USA

CheckBox spacing at end

Post by mritter0 »

I have noticed that checkbox.gadgets have extra space at the end of the text. In the image the group right bar is right at the end of the chooser.gadget, but has extra room after the checkbox.gadget text. It's not an error, just an observation that is not consistent with the other gadget types.
Attachments
Checkbox.png
Workbench Explorer - A better way to browse drawers

User avatar
mritter0
Posts: 214
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2014 9:41 pm
Location: Bettendorf, IA, USA

Re: CheckBox spacing at end

Post by mritter0 »

Has this been looked at? Hopefully fixed. radiobutton.gadget class does it, as well. Puts extra padding at the end of the text when it shouldn't.

Image

Image

Image
Workbench Explorer - A better way to browse drawers

User avatar
mritter0
Posts: 214
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2014 9:41 pm
Location: Bettendorf, IA, USA

Re: CheckBox spacing at end

Post by mritter0 »

When use LAYOUT_ShrinkWrap to bring the scrollers closer to the texteditor gadget, there is a spacing error. It does not happen when don't use shrink wrap.

Image
Workbench Explorer - A better way to browse drawers

User avatar
broadblues
AmigaOS Core Developer
AmigaOS Core Developer
Posts: 591
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 2:40 am
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Contact:

Re: CheckBox spacing at end

Post by broadblues »


LAYOUT_ShrinkWrap (BOOL)
If set to TRUE, the layout group will shrink the interspacing
of the child objects to minimum. Normally all extra space (if
the total maximum size of the child objects is less than the
size of the layoutgroup) is evenly distributed between the
gadgets.
This it's doing what you asked. there will be no space between the vertical scroller and the texteditor, so the small extra space untended to align the gadgets properly ended up at the end.

You are trying to micro manage the layout, but's not designed like that. Let the layout gadget handle the layout and just use the occasional weighted height and width to get the general layout you need.

Post Reply