FE and Copy/Paste crash

A forum for general AmigaOS 4.x support questions that are not platform-specific
User avatar
Raziel
Posts: 956
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 4:00 pm
Location: a dying planet

Re: FE and Copy/Paste crash

Post by Raziel »

I confirm that i also have "MUNGE" in my os4_commandline CFE setting
People are dying.
Entire ecosystems are collapsing.
We are in the beginning of a mass extinction.
And all you can talk about is money and fairytales of eternal economic growth.
How dare you!
– Greta Thunberg

zzd10h
Posts: 546
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2012 5:40 am
Location: France

Re: FE and Copy/Paste crash

Post by zzd10h »

It means that we (you and me,neither betatesters nor os4 devs) are the only ones to use MUNGE on our x1000 ?

Proud to be a betatester :D
http://apps.amistore.net/zTools
X1000 - AmigaOS 4.1.6 / 4.1 FE

User avatar
Raziel
Posts: 956
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 4:00 pm
Location: a dying planet

Re: FE and Copy/Paste crash

Post by Raziel »

zzd10h wrote:It means that we (you and me,neither betatesters nor os4 devs) are the only ones to use MUNGE on our x1000 ?

Proud to be a betatester :D
Actually...i just remembered that i added "MUNGE" while doing betatesting for your zTools (back when they weren't called that) and was driving you crazy because CPUDock.docky kept crashing for me (after five to ten removes/readds to AmiDock) but not for you...i told you about MUNGE, you added it to your commandline and voila :-D

Hehehe, it does help finding some mistakes in code ;-)
People are dying.
Entire ecosystems are collapsing.
We are in the beginning of a mass extinction.
And all you can talk about is money and fairytales of eternal economic growth.
How dare you!
– Greta Thunberg

zzd10h
Posts: 546
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2012 5:40 am
Location: France

Re: FE and Copy/Paste crash

Post by zzd10h »

Ah yes, you are right, Jabirulo and Corto fixed this problem in CPUDock.

You are right, too, it mades me crazy ;)
http://apps.amistore.net/zTools
X1000 - AmigaOS 4.1.6 / 4.1 FE

User avatar
nbache
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 1447
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:25 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Contact:

Re: FE and Copy/Paste crash

Post by nbache »

zzd10h wrote:It means that we (you and me,neither betatesters nor os4 devs) are the only ones to use MUNGE on our x1000 ?
No, of course at least I (and probably also many other beta testers) use MUNGE.

What I have to admit, though, is that I've never used the feature of copying/pasting files, not even in Windows. It just somehow doesn't feel natural to me. You can copy/paste data, e.g. text or a picture or whatever, but files seem like something you copy in a more concrete way. I know, it's just my personal habits and taste.

Best regards,

Niels

zzd10h
Posts: 546
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2012 5:40 am
Location: France

Re: FE and Copy/Paste crash

Post by zzd10h »

Hi nbache,
And how do you copy files at a different drawer in the same volume ?

You drag the files to RAM: and redrag them in the destination drawer ?
http://apps.amistore.net/zTools
X1000 - AmigaOS 4.1.6 / 4.1 FE

User avatar
nbache
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 1447
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:25 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Contact:

Re: FE and Copy/Paste crash

Post by nbache »

zzd10h wrote:And how do you copy files at a different drawer in the same volume ?
Normally, I use either DOpus 4 or a Shell.

Best regards,

Niels

User avatar
Raziel
Posts: 956
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 4:00 pm
Location: a dying planet

Re: FE and Copy/Paste crash

Post by Raziel »

nbache wrote:
zzd10h wrote:And how do you copy files at a different drawer in the same volume ?
Normally, I use either DOpus 4 or a Shell.

Best regards,

Niels
How "old-school" :-P

Drag&Drop all the way here ;-)
People are dying.
Entire ecosystems are collapsing.
We are in the beginning of a mass extinction.
And all you can talk about is money and fairytales of eternal economic growth.
How dare you!
– Greta Thunberg

User avatar
broadblues
AmigaOS Core Developer
AmigaOS Core Developer
Posts: 591
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 2:40 am
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Contact:

Re: FE and Copy/Paste crash

Post by broadblues »

And how do you copy files at a different drawer in the same volume ?
Click on file, drag with mouse, press RAMIGA when dropping.

That also has the dual effect of constraining the drag to one direction (horizontal or vertical) so you probably only want press it just before release.

I knew there was akey to do this, and just spent a short while trying every combination I could think of, I don't think I ever used it 'in anger'.

zzd10h
Posts: 546
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2012 5:40 am
Location: France

Re: FE and Copy/Paste crash

Post by zzd10h »

Ah yes, it works, thank you for the tip.

Nevertheless, it looks more natural for me to use RMB Copy/Paste (without MUNGE of course), old MacOSX and/or Windows habit.
http://apps.amistore.net/zTools
X1000 - AmigaOS 4.1.6 / 4.1 FE

Post Reply