Alt and Amiga keys are swapped on USB kbd.

A forum for general AmigaOS 4.x support questions that are not platform-specific
Deniil

Alt and Amiga keys are swapped on USB kbd.

Post by Deniil »

I have never used a USB keyboard before, but now on the X1000 I have to of course.

Problem I have (on both of my two totally different USB keyboards) is that the Amiga(Win) key and Alt keys are swapped on both sides so that LAlt becomes LAmiga and LWin becomes LAlt. And the same thing on the right side. This makes all normal hotkeys (like cut/copy/paste) become RAlt+x,c,v instead of RAmiga+x,c,v. I can't quite see how this happened. And I just confirmed that I am not alone to experience this. It also happened with the dedicated AmigaOne keyboard.

I'm using a Swedish keyboard and Swedish layout with a euro sign that I just now noticed I can't type either! Should be the s_ISO-8859-15 keymap. Might be worth mentioning that YAM always complains that I use "ISO-8859-1" when I have in fact configured "ISO-8859-15" in Input prefs.
MichaelMerkel
Beta Tester
Beta Tester

Re: Alt and Amiga keys are swapped on USB kbd.

Post by MichaelMerkel »

Deniil wrote:I have never used a USB keyboard before, but now on the X1000 I have to of course.

Problem I have (on both of my two totally different USB keyboards) is that the Amiga(Win) key and Alt keys are swapped on both sides so that LAlt becomes LAmiga and LWin becomes LAlt. And the same thing on the right side. This makes all normal hotkeys (like cut/copy/paste) become RAlt+x,c,v instead of RAmiga+x,c,v. I can't quite see how this happened. And I just confirmed that I am not alone to experience this. It also happened with the dedicated AmigaOne keyboard.
afaik you need to do the following setting in cfe:

Code: Select all

setenv -p keymap_swapaltamiga off
the default keyboard delivered with the x1000 has the keys swapped. and this is the default. to make other keyboards work you need to disable the swapping.