X1000 + Sapphire X1950 GT fail ?

AmigaOne X1000 platform specific issues.

Re: X1000 + Sapphire X1950 GT fail ?

Postby Benny » Mon Apr 15, 2019 12:02 pm

Raziel wrote:@Benny

First of all i'm glad that it's not only my machine and second, if more systems are affected maybe a CFE update could fix this behaviour?
Wasn't there talks that CFE might get an update?


My AmigaOne 500 has the same 'feature', and that one has no CFE.

But like I said, it is sometimes the case not always.
Benny
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 9:03 pm

Re: X1000 + Sapphire X1950 GT fail ?

Postby Benny » Mon Apr 29, 2019 6:52 pm

Raziel wrote:@Benny

First of all i'm glad that it's not only my machine and second, if more systems are affected maybe a CFE update could fix this behaviour?
Wasn't there talks that CFE might get an update?


I think it is time to put some serial cable on the X1000, every softboot does not boot the machine again. Only off/on :(
Benny
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 9:03 pm

Re: X1000 + Sapphire X1950 GT fail ?

Postby Raziel » Mon Apr 29, 2019 7:02 pm

I already have...logging since a few weeks now.
I can already make out some problematic behaviour.

The lockup on the AmigaOS4 boot logo might be because of an USB hub with integrated card reader (Mass Storage) which is not in use.
Will try to unplug that and see how it goes.

I also found a workaround for the cold (not)reboot.
Just press the Reset button in and hold it for 3-5 seconds (75% success for now, further testing).
That doesn't work for LCTRL+LALT+RALT, of course.

Seems to me some parts of the mainboard need more time to "reboot" (hopefully that can be rectified by a CFE update or a change to the reboot command/code/whatever.
If slaughterhouses had glass walls, everyone would be a vegetarian. ~ Sir Paul McCartney
-
Did everything just taste purple for a second? ~ Philip J. Fry
-
Ain't got no cash, ain't got no style, ladies vomit when I smile. ~ Dr. John Zoidberg
User avatar
Raziel
 
Posts: 914
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 5:00 pm
Location: a story that hasn't been written yet

Re: X1000 + Sapphire X1950 GT fail ?

Postby Benny » Sun May 05, 2019 8:59 am

Raziel wrote:I already have...logging since a few weeks now.
I can already make out some problematic behaviour.

The lockup on the AmigaOS4 boot logo might be because of an USB hub with integrated card reader (Mass Storage) which is not in use.
Will try to unplug that and see how it goes.

I also found a workaround for the cold (not)reboot.
Just press the Reset button in and hold it for 3-5 seconds (75% success for now, further testing).
That doesn't work for LCTRL+LALT+RALT, of course.

Seems to me some parts of the mainboard need more time to "reboot" (hopefully that can be rectified by a CFE update or a change to the reboot command/code/whatever.


The trick with the resetbutton works, the systems boots again.
Minor thing is that the fans in the tower are at fullspeed after booting and stay at fullspeed :(
Benny
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 9:03 pm

Re: X1000 + Sapphire X1950 GT fail ?

Postby Raziel » Wed May 08, 2019 12:04 pm

Hmm...i didn't know the x1000 hardware (respectively amigaos4 later in the process) has (automatic) fan control?
(I know the original tower case had a manual 5v/7v/12v fan control switch at it's front)

The fans connected to the board always run in full speed for me (which is why I installed a manual fan controller in the new case aswell).
If slaughterhouses had glass walls, everyone would be a vegetarian. ~ Sir Paul McCartney
-
Did everything just taste purple for a second? ~ Philip J. Fry
-
Ain't got no cash, ain't got no style, ladies vomit when I smile. ~ Dr. John Zoidberg
User avatar
Raziel
 
Posts: 914
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 5:00 pm
Location: a story that hasn't been written yet

Re: X1000 + Sapphire X1950 GT fail ?

Postby Raziel » Fri May 10, 2019 11:13 pm

Further tests reveal that the OS4 Boot Logo freeze was indeed a faulty initialization of the monitor's built-in USB card reader.
The same USB hub works perfectly fine with a PC.

Seems to be a general problem of the USB stack/driver(?)
If slaughterhouses had glass walls, everyone would be a vegetarian. ~ Sir Paul McCartney
-
Did everything just taste purple for a second? ~ Philip J. Fry
-
Ain't got no cash, ain't got no style, ladies vomit when I smile. ~ Dr. John Zoidberg
User avatar
Raziel
 
Posts: 914
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 5:00 pm
Location: a story that hasn't been written yet

Re: X1000 + Sapphire X1950 GT fail ?

Postby Benny » Sat May 11, 2019 8:00 pm

Raziel wrote:Hmm...i didn't know the x1000 hardware (respectively amigaos4 later in the process) has (automatic) fan control?
(I know the original tower case had a manual 5v/7v/12v fan control switch at it's front)

The fans connected to the board always run in full speed for me (which is why I installed a manual fan controller in the new case aswell).


To be specific: the fans of the Radeon 7750 cards are at full speed.
Benny
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 9:03 pm

Re: X1000 + Sapphire X1950 GT fail ?

Postby Raziel » Sat May 11, 2019 9:54 pm

That has to be controlled by the gfx card/gfx driver, not sure if this will be ever be on the agenda.

The same for me, the original fans started to go off in full speed once AmigaOS4 was up.
I replaced them with an Arctic Accellero...the fans still blow in full speed, but now it's bearable.
If slaughterhouses had glass walls, everyone would be a vegetarian. ~ Sir Paul McCartney
-
Did everything just taste purple for a second? ~ Philip J. Fry
-
Ain't got no cash, ain't got no style, ladies vomit when I smile. ~ Dr. John Zoidberg
User avatar
Raziel
 
Posts: 914
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 5:00 pm
Location: a story that hasn't been written yet

Previous

Return to Platform: AmigaOne X1000

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron