Beret freeze

A forum for general AmigaOS 4.x support questions that are not platform-specific

Beret freeze

Postby Ribdevil » Fri Jul 06, 2018 9:20 pm

Hi everybody.
I have problems with two programs, the games beret and freedroidrpg.
Both programs start well and after a few seconds the computer crashes, having to reset the computer.
It only happens to me with those two games, the rest works great, even more powerful and heavy games, like the Quake modules of Huno ( great work guy ), like Return Castle Wolfnstein, etc.
Any ideas ?
How can I monitor those programs to see the cause ?
All help is good.

Thank you.

Virginio
User avatar
Ribdevil
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2011 8:11 pm

Re: Beret freeze

Postby javierdlr » Sat Jul 07, 2018 10:41 am

Yu can get serial crashlog (GrimpReaper or by using c:dumpdebugbuffer) or systems just freezes and you can only hard-reset system?

Snoopy maybe shows you if some resource (sobjs. libs,..) is missing.
User avatar
javierdlr
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 374
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 11:13 pm
Location: Donostia (GUIPUZCOA) - Spain

Re: Beret freeze

Postby Ribdevil » Sat Jul 07, 2018 1:32 pm

I only can make a hard reset or shootdown the system.

:(

Virginio
User avatar
Ribdevil
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2011 8:11 pm

Re: Beret freeze

Postby capehill » Wed Jul 11, 2018 2:56 pm

What system do you have? How much free VRAM you have before starting the game?

How much stack do you have? Note that there are separate stack parameters for shell and WB applications. Try increasing the stack value.

If possible, try experimenting with fullscreen/window modes.
capehill
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2017 2:07 pm

Re: Beret freeze

Postby Ribdevil » Sat Jul 21, 2018 12:34 pm

My System is :
AmigaOne X5000
AmigaOS 4.1 FE prerelease
AMD Radeon R9-270 1Gb
RAM 4 GB

After the star WB shows 1,776 Gb Free RAM and 219 Kb Free Video Ram

I try incresed the stack, but same results.

:(
User avatar
Ribdevil
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2011 8:11 pm

Re: Beret freeze

Postby Raziel » Sat Jul 21, 2018 12:52 pm

Ribdevil wrote:My System is :
AmigaOne X5000
AmigaOS 4.1 FE prerelease
AMD Radeon R9-270 1Gb
RAM 4 GB

After the star WB shows 1,776 Gb Free RAM and 219 Kb Free Video Ram

I try incresed the stack, but same results.

:(

Did you maybe mean 218 MB Gfx Ram?
If not, there's your problem, with 219 KB no game will run ... for long, if ever

I just tried "Beret" and it works fine.

Finished the first level with everything collected.

The only thing that is special about this game is that it's probing my catweasel for joysticks...i don't have any, but it keeps polling it which produces a little "hiccup" in the audio playback all 15 seconds or so (annyoing)...maybe that's what causing it for you to crash?
If slaughterhouses had glass walls, everyone would be a vegetarian. ~ Sir Paul McCartney
-
Did everything just taste purple for a second? ~ Philip J. Fry
-
Ain't got no cash, ain't got no style, ladies vomit when I smile. ~ Dr. John Zoidberg
User avatar
Raziel
 
Posts: 864
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 5:00 pm
Location: A haunted Castle somewhere in the Bavarian Mountains

Re: Beret freeze

Postby Ribdevil » Wed Jul 25, 2018 12:49 pm

Yes, 218 Mb, my fault.
Beret now works, increase the stack, and now it works correctly, but I still have problems with "freedroidrpg".

Thanks for the answers.

A greeting.

Virginio
User avatar
Ribdevil
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2011 8:11 pm


Return to General AmigaOS

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests

cron