X1000 Cell Battery

AmigaOne X1000 platform specific issues.

X1000 Cell Battery

Postby sundown » Sat Nov 16, 2013 10:34 pm

No known issue with it yet, but was wondering what to expect if it dies or is removed. Will we lose the CFE variables where the system is un-bootable? Maybe a question for Varisys.

Ken
X1000 - Antec Solo case, 4GB DDR2 mem, XFX R9 270 gfx card, Plextor DVD, 2 Samsung 1TB F3 HDD, RTL-8139 network card, Cooler Master Silent Pro 600W PSU
User avatar
sundown
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 436
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 11:38 pm
Location: California, USA

Re: X1000 Cell Battery

Postby LyleHaze » Sat Nov 16, 2013 10:56 pm

I am not an employee of Varisys, but page 12 of the tech ref manual says that the battery is for "Real Time Clock and non-volatile CMOS Memory". There's also a jumper for clearing the memory..
Based on that, I'd say that we will lose data if the battery is gone for long.

I welcome corrections if I got anything wrong.

[edit]
I wonder if saving the output of "c:nvgetvar" will give us everything we need for a restore?
User avatar
LyleHaze
AmigaOS Core Developer
AmigaOS Core Developer
 
Posts: 512
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 5:06 pm
Location: Georgia, USA, just North of the Florida border

Re: X1000 Cell Battery

Postby Raziel » Sat Nov 16, 2013 11:42 pm

LyleHaze wrote:I am not an employee of Varisys, but page 12 of the tech ref manual says that the battery is for "Real Time Clock and non-volatile CMOS Memory". There's also a jumper for clearing the memory..
Based on that, I'd say that we will lose data if the battery is gone for long.

I welcome corrections if I got anything wrong.

[edit]
I wonder if saving the output of "c:nvgetvar" will give us everything we need for a restore?

In the Firmware and Booting Guide on page 14, chapter 6 is the "default CFE configuration" printed.
So it should be easy to type these few commands after an emergency...at least it will get you up and running again
If slaughterhouses had glass walls, everyone would be a vegetarian. ~ Sir Paul McCartney
-
Did everything just taste purple for a second? ~ Philip J. Fry
-
Ain't got no cash, ain't got no style, ladies vomit when I smile. ~ Dr. John Zoidberg
User avatar
Raziel
 
Posts: 865
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 5:00 pm
Location: A haunted Castle somewhere in the Bavarian Mountains

Re: X1000 Cell Battery

Postby trevordick » Sun Nov 17, 2013 12:22 am

Can I suggest we ask Steven Solie, who has just changed the cell battery on his AmigaONE X1000. ;-)

Trevor
I'm just Breezin'
User avatar
trevordick
A-Eon Technology
A-Eon Technology
 
Posts: 1380
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 2:28 pm

Re: X1000 Cell Battery

Postby nbache » Sun Nov 17, 2013 1:10 am

LyleHaze wrote:I wonder if saving the output of "c:nvgetvar" will give us everything we need for a restore?
It should, as far as I can see. Although I'd suggest printing it, not just saving it - if you need it, you probably won't be able to get at it on the HD (at least unless you save it on a different machine).

Best regards,

Niels
User avatar
nbache
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 1299
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 8:25 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

Re: X1000 Cell Battery

Postby tonyw » Sun Nov 17, 2013 7:06 am

trevordick wrote:Can I suggest we ask Steven Solie, who has just changed the cell battery on his AmigaONE X1000. ;-)

Trevor


Did he really have to send it to an auto repair shop for that job? Or is that just a nasty rumour?
cheers
tony
User avatar
tonyw
AmigaOS Core Developer
AmigaOS Core Developer
 
Posts: 1332
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 2:36 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: X1000 Cell Battery

Postby Severin » Sun Nov 17, 2013 5:48 pm

I changed my battery today as I'd been having similar problems so ssolie (not starting, just a dead blank screen cured by switching off the PSU for a few seconds, also CFE reboot loops.

The battery was out for under 10 seconds andI didn't loose any settings.

The only problem I had was a CFE error saying it couldn't load amigaboot.of due to insufficient memory. I popped out the ram modult which had a layer of dust on it from the cpu fan. cleaned it up and cleaned out the socket with a brush, same problem, tried it in the other side socket, same problem. I eventually tracked down the problem...

CFE LIES... it wasn't memory, I'd knocked the power lead out of the harddrive when changing the battery. Now all is well and the system seems to be booting better.
User avatar
Severin
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 189
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 2:41 pm

Re: X1000 Cell Battery

Postby Severin » Sun Nov 17, 2013 5:52 pm

tonyw wrote:Did he really have to send it to an auto repair shop for that job? Or is that just a nasty rumour?


Yes he did take it in for repair (I met him the after he took it to amigakit), it was thought to be a problem with the CPU mount but turned out to be the bettery which is good news for all of us.
User avatar
Severin
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 189
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 2:41 pm

Re: X1000 Cell Battery

Postby Slayer » Mon Nov 18, 2013 9:20 am

yes

CFE just says things like that when it cant execute something I guess
it was decided that was better than what?

My last X1000 system was set up for a first contact user and as such
doesnt expect my compact flash card so I always get that type of error
before I type the correct

boot -fatfs cf0:amigaboot.of

sometimes I typo and leave off the end f I get the same error message

my logic behind not changing it is so I remember how to navigate CFE

its nice to know what to type for debugging etc

of course thats just me
~Yes I am a Kiwi, No, I did not appear as an extra in 'Lord of the Rings'~
1x AmigaOne X5000 2.0GHz 2gM RadeonR9280X AOS4.x
3x AmigaOne X1000 1.8GHz 2gM RadeonHD7970 AOS4.x
User avatar
Slayer
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 851
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 5:19 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: X1000 Cell Battery

Postby ssolie » Mon Nov 18, 2013 6:22 pm

Severin wrote:Yes he did take it in for repair (I met him the after he took it to amigakit), it was thought to be a problem with the CPU mount but turned out to be the bettery which is good news for all of us.

Thank goodness it was something much simpler. An entry has already been added to the wiki so others don't have to suffer.

On a somewhat related topic, I was working on Timberwolf last night via Ubuntu on the X1000. A HUGE THANKS to our local Linux experts for making Ubuntu "just work" so I can focus on Timberwolf. Kudos! I have the code and I was just finishing up the cross-compiler dev environment. I plan to send out a binary release once I get it all working to establish a baseline. Then we can add some 3rd party devs to the team and get moving again. I'll blog when the time is right.
AmigaOS Development Team Lead
Be authentic. Get AmigaOS.
User avatar
ssolie
AmigaOS Core Developer
AmigaOS Core Developer
 
Posts: 1010
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 9:51 pm
Location: Canada

Next

Return to Platform: AmigaOne X1000

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests