Arctic Fox 27.9.12 (Firefox 63.0) a fork of Pale Moon

AmigaOne X5000 platform specific issues related to Linux only.

Re: Arctic Fox 27.9.12 (Firefox 63.0) a fork of Pale Moon

Postby xeno74 » Wed Feb 13, 2019 12:24 pm

@Kilaueabart
Please use the button 'Reload' to update the list of available packages. After that, please try to install Arctic Fox again.

@All
I know, I am crazy! ;-) (see screenshot)

Image
http://www.amigalinux.org
http://www.supertuxkart-amiga.de

Running Linux on AmigaONEs can require some tinkering.
User avatar
xeno74
 
Posts: 5082
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 8:58 am

Re: Arctic Fox 27.9.12 (Firefox 63.0) a fork of Pale Moon

Postby caseycullen » Wed Feb 13, 2019 6:01 pm

If you're using Fienix you should not change the settings in Synaptic. After you start Synaptic it will ask for the root password, enter it. When the main window opens first click the Reload button to make sure its up to date, then you just need to click the Search button, and type in "arcticfox".
If you disabled one of the repositories in the Synaptic settings you should re-enable it or you'll probably end up with un-upgradable or broken packages at some point.
-Casey

kilaueabart wrote: because when I used the Synaptic fienix repository for earlier versions, they got installed and I could run them from the Menu. But I can't seem to remember how to get the repository. In Synaptic I click Settings, then RepositDownload 27.9.15 32-bit PowerPC (no altivec - Ubuntu14/Debian8) Linux (contributed by xeno74): arcticfox-27.9.15.linux-non-altivec-powerpc.tar.bz2
caseycullen
 
Posts: 249
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2016 8:12 am
Location: Madison, WI USA

Re: Arctic Fox 27.9.12 (Firefox 63.0) a fork of Pale Moon

Postby kilaueabart » Wed Feb 13, 2019 9:52 pm

xeno74 wrote:@Kilaueabart
Please use the button 'Reload' to update the list of available packages. After that, please try to install Arctic Fox again.

I never would have thought of clicking the reload button! Once I did that I didn't even have to find the repository. The upgrade was right there in the main list! So easy!
User avatar
kilaueabart
 
Posts: 600
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 3:36 am

Re: Arctic Fox 27.9.12 (Firefox 63.0) a fork of Pale Moon

Postby xeno74 » Thu Feb 14, 2019 12:25 am

Hi All,

I was able to compile Arctic Fox 27.9.15 on Ubuntu 10.04.4 LTS PowerPC today! :-)

I had to add the GCC 4.8 and the libatomic1 via the repository 'ppa:ubuntu-toolchain-r/test'. Additionally I had to compile Python 2.7 because Arctic Fox depends on Python 2.7. Now, Arctic Fox 27.9.15 works on a nine years old Linux system! :-) I will test it and after that I will try to release it.

Image

Cheers,
Christian
http://www.amigalinux.org
http://www.supertuxkart-amiga.de

Running Linux on AmigaONEs can require some tinkering.
User avatar
xeno74
 
Posts: 5082
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 8:58 am

Re: Arctic Fox 27.9.12 (Firefox 63.0) a fork of Pale Moon

Postby xeno74 » Thu Feb 14, 2019 11:05 pm

Hi All,

I released a test version of Arctic Fox 27.9.15 for Ubuntu 10.04.4 LTS PowerPC (Lucid Lynx) today. Maybe it works on Debian 6 (Squeeze) too.

Please note: It doesn't work on Ubuntu 10.04.0. You need Ubuntu 10.04.4. Unfortunately 'mach package' doesn't work on Ubuntu 10.04.4 so I had to create the package manually. That means, the package is much bigger than the default package. However, Arctic Fox 27.9.15 works fantastic on Ubuntu 10.04.4. The default old web browser Firefox can't access many websites anymore. Arctic Fox is faster and brings Ubuntu 10.04 back to the web. :-)

Download: arcticfox-27.9.15-ubuntu10.04-powerpc.tar.bz2

Additionally you need the libatomic1 package.

Download: libatomic-ubuntu10.04-powerpc.tar.bz2

Please copy the file 'libatomic.so.1' to '/usr/lib/' with the following command:

Code: Select all
sudo cp libatomic.so.1 /usr/lib/


Maybe you need Python 2.7 as well. I had to compile Python 2.7 because Arctic Fox depends on Python 2.7 but it wasn't difficult to compile it.

Compiling Python:

Code: Select all
./configure --prefix=/usr


Code: Select all
make


Code: Select all
sudo make install


After that you can start Arctic Fox with:

Code: Select all
./arcticfox


Screenshot of Arctic Fox 27.9.15 on my refurbished Ubuntu 10.04.4 LTS (GCC 4.8.1, Python 2.7.3, kernel 5.0-rc6 etc):

Image

Cheers,
Christian
http://www.amigalinux.org
http://www.supertuxkart-amiga.de

Running Linux on AmigaONEs can require some tinkering.
User avatar
xeno74
 
Posts: 5082
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 8:58 am

Re: Arctic Fox 27.9.12 (Firefox 63.0) a fork of Pale Moon

Postby xeno74 » Fri Feb 22, 2019 4:10 pm

Hi All,

I was able to solve the problem with mach package today.

Arctic Fox 27.9.15 works on Ubuntu 10.04.0 LTS PowerPC (Lucid Lynx) now! You don't need Ubuntu 10.04.4 as a requirement anymore!

I successfully tested it on the Ubuntu 10.04.0 Live DVD today.

You don't need to install Python 2.7 anymore but you need to install the GCC 4.8 and the libatomic1 via the repository 'ppa:ubuntu-toolchain-r/test'.

Code: Select all
sudo add-apt-repository ppa:ubuntu-toolchain-r/test


Code: Select all
sudo apt-get update; sudo apt-get install gcc-4.8 g++-4.8


Download: arcticfox-27.9.15-2-ubuntu10.04-powerpc.tar.bz2

After that you can start Arctic Fox with:

Code: Select all
./arcticfox


Screenshot of Arctic Fox 27.9.15 on the Ubuntu 10.04.0 Live DVD:

Image

Cheers,
Christian
http://www.amigalinux.org
http://www.supertuxkart-amiga.de

Running Linux on AmigaONEs can require some tinkering.
User avatar
xeno74
 
Posts: 5082
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 8:58 am

Re: Arctic Fox 27.9.12 (Firefox 63.0) a fork of Pale Moon

Postby kilaueabart » Wed Feb 27, 2019 2:14 am

I've been reviewing the fienix and arctic fox threads in Arctic Fox from the beginning today. Reading a link Christian made to a 5000 blog, I came across this graphic:
washedoutgraphic.png

I have noticed this washed-out look in a number of graphics in sites I've viewed with Arctic Fox. But something I right-clicked brought me the following, showing me what a second washed-out graphic should really have looked like:
howitshouldlook.png

So my question: Can I fix this so the graphics show properly? Is there something I have set wrong?
User avatar
kilaueabart
 
Posts: 600
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 3:36 am

Re: Arctic Fox 27.9.12 (Firefox 63.0) a fork of Pale Moon

Postby xeno74 » Wed Feb 27, 2019 6:26 am

kilaueabart wrote:I've been reviewing the fienix and arctic fox threads in Arctic Fox from the beginning today. Reading a link Christian made to a 5000 blog, I came across this graphic:
washedoutgraphic.png

I have noticed this washed-out look in a number of graphics in sites I've viewed with Arctic Fox. But something I right-clicked brought me the following, showing me what a second washed-out graphic should really have looked like:
howitshouldlook.png

So my question: Can I fix this so the graphics show properly? Is there something I have set wrong?


Hi Kilaueabart,

Wart Hog Matt has answered your question via Facebook Messager.

Wart Hog Matt wrote:There is a user on the amiga forums with a question about washed out images. There is an issue with webp on ppc (this isnt an issue with x86). Have him do this: go in about:config and change image.http.accept
Default is: image/webp,image/jxr,image/png,image/;q=0.8,/;q=0.5
Change to: image/jxr,image/png,image/;q=0.8,/;q=0.5
Reload that website. The images should look correct now.


@Wart Hog Matt
Many many thanks for your help!!!!

Cheers,
Christian
http://www.amigalinux.org
http://www.supertuxkart-amiga.de

Running Linux on AmigaONEs can require some tinkering.
User avatar
xeno74
 
Posts: 5082
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 8:58 am

Re: Arctic Fox 27.9.12 (Firefox 63.0) a fork of Pale Moon

Postby caseycullen » Wed Feb 27, 2019 5:52 pm

Christian,
Thanks for sharing this information! I came across this once myself but didn't follow up on it. I'll make this default in the Fienix version of Arctic Fox for now. This is telling Arctic Fox not to try to load WebP images, but that might become problematic if websites start using WebP with no fallback format. Do we know if Arctic Fox has it's own integrated WebP codec, or does it depend on the system codec included with the Debian/Ubuntu/Fienix/whatever-OS? If the problem is with the OS codec we should submit a bug report.
-Casey

xeno74 wrote:
kilaueabart wrote:I've been reviewing the fienix and arctic fox threads in Arctic Fox from the beginning today. Reading a link Christian made to a 5000 blog, I came across this graphic:
washedoutgraphic.png

I have noticed this washed-out look in a number of graphics in sites I've viewed with Arctic Fox. But something I right-clicked brought me the following, showing me what a second washed-out graphic should really have looked like:
howitshouldlook.png

So my question: Can I fix this so the graphics show properly? Is there something I have set wrong?


Hi Kilaueabart,

Wart Hog Matt has answered your question via Facebook Messager.

Wart Hog Matt wrote:There is a user on the amiga forums with a question about washed out images. There is an issue with webp on ppc (this isnt an issue with x86). Have him do this: go in about:config and change image.http.accept
Default is: image/webp,image/jxr,image/png,image/;q=0.8,/;q=0.5
Change to: image/jxr,image/png,image/;q=0.8,/;q=0.5
Reload that website. The images should look correct now.


@Wart Hog Matt
Many many thanks for your help!!!!

Cheers,
Christian
caseycullen
 
Posts: 249
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2016 8:12 am
Location: Madison, WI USA

Re: Arctic Fox 27.9.12 (Firefox 63.0) a fork of Pale Moon

Postby kilaueabart » Wed Feb 27, 2019 9:08 pm

xeno74 wrote:Hi Kilaueabart,

Wart Hog Matt has answered your question via Facebook Messager.

Wart Hog Matt wrote:There is a user on the amiga forums with a question about washed out images. There is an issue with webp on ppc (this isnt an issue with x86). Have him do this: go in about:config and change image.http.accept
Default is: image/webp,image/jxr,image/png,image/;q=0.8,/;q=0.5
Change to: image/jxr,image/png,image/;q=0.8,/;q=0.5
Reload that website. The images should look correct now.


I'm pretty sure I found the place, but I can't figure out how to change it. If I right-click on the line, I get a little window with "Modify, Copy, Copy Name, Copy Value, New." Clicking "New" gets me "String, Integer, Boolean." It seemed to me I wanted to do a new string, but clicking that simply opens a little black window that I cannot type in. "Modify" gets me the same non-functioning, hard to close, window.

By the way, this reminds me of another color problem I'm having. User and Password gadgets often come up black, hard to see what I'm typing into them.
User avatar
kilaueabart
 
Posts: 600
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 3:36 am

PreviousNext

Return to Platform: AmigaOne X5000 - Linux Only

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron