Page 1 of 1

Updater

PostPosted: Thu Jun 28, 2018 11:20 pm
by Steff
I have run the "Updater" and there is a requester telling me that there is "No disk present in device APPDIR Process: 393 "Updater"". Can somebody tell me how i solve yet another puzzle of the Ami X5000?

Re: Updater

PostPosted: Fri Jun 29, 2018 1:16 am
by tonyw
That sounds like a bug in the Updater utility. APPDIR: is not a device but an assignment. To a program like Updater, APPDIR: should immediately appear as a non-disk device and it should be ignored.

If you can Cancel the requester, it should not matter.

Re: Updater

PostPosted: Sat Jun 30, 2018 3:27 am
by colinw
APPDIR: is a virtual volume just like RAM: or ENV: or other such handlers.
APPDIR appears to you as a virtual disk that only contains softlinks.
You can treat it just like any disk volume, short of formatting it or having actual files stored on it,
it is also setup so that no disk icon appears on workbench, just like the ENV: handler.

By the looks of the requester, it seems the "Updater" program is forgetting to do a IDOS->SetProcWindow(-1);
when it is trying to get information while running through the DOS device list.
This requester tends to indicate the type of error message you would get because APPDIR is both the
DEVICE name and the VOLUME name, however, there is no VOLUME node actually in the doslist for APPDIR,
so it seems like it is assuming that there is no disk present because of that.

What "Updater" should be doing is getting a list of VOLUMES, (not DEVICES), then it wouldn't even see things
like APPDIR: or ENV: or CD/floppy disk drives with no disks in them.

Re: Updater

PostPosted: Sat Jun 30, 2018 9:15 pm
by mritter0
I did a fresh install for my new system. I, too, started to get the APPDIR requesters, from Updater, as well. What it turned to be for me is that my program, WorkbenchExplorer, was calling "APPDIR:LhA" to extract an archive. I hadn't run C:LhA yet so it couldn't find it in the APPDIR: "database". So I manually ran LhA from a shell, ran WEx again, extracted archive, works fine now.

Doing that seems to have fixed the Updater issue, too.

Re: Updater

PostPosted: Sat Jun 30, 2018 9:55 pm
by zzd10h
Should be fixed in Updater 53.43.
What are your Updater version ?

Re: Updater

PostPosted: Wed Jul 18, 2018 12:19 am
by duga
zzd10h wrote:Should be fixed in Updater 53.43.
What are your Updater version ?


Where can I get that? I have version 53.37.

Re: Updater

PostPosted: Fri Aug 03, 2018 8:20 pm
by duga
duga wrote:
zzd10h wrote:Should be fixed in Updater 53.43.
What are your Updater version ?


Where can I get that? I have version 53.37.



Running 53.48 now. :)