Page 2 of 2

Re: How to burn working boot cd from Hyperion image?

PostPosted: Fri Jun 15, 2018 7:54 am
by smf
bigmac wrote:. I used the setenv command to reset the usb bus and now it recognised my thumb drive but will only boot to prompt just wondering if I can get the thumb drive to boot using additional cmd. Thanks for all the help and suggestions guys I really appreciate it hopefully with our help I'll get up and running again.


I'm not at home and can verify my claims now but this is the steps i would do:

1. Put the thumb drive in any usb port
2. When the bootanim starts press esc to get to the boot menu
3. Select boot to command line
4. type "usb reset" to get it to reqognize the thumb drive
5. type "boota" to start amigaboot
6. amigaboot should start and give a menu asking from what bootable device to boot from, select the thumb drive. (if the amigaboot menu is not showing and you have several bootdevices you can enable the boot menu with some setenv command, something like "amigabootquiet=no" use printenv and you will see it )

And you should probably solve the flickering video issue before doing this...

Re: How to burn working boot cd from Hyperion image?

PostPosted: Fri Jun 15, 2018 8:30 pm
by xenic
smf wrote:
I'm not at home and can verify my claims now but this is the steps i would do: ...

And you should probably solve the flickering video issue before doing this...


I've reread this topic and seems that bigmac wants to boot the X5000 installer. Are you all saying that copying the X5000 Install iso to a USB stick and booting from that USB stick will load the installer?

Re: How to burn working boot cd from Hyperion image?

PostPosted: Mon Jun 18, 2018 10:44 am
by smf
xenic wrote:
smf wrote:
I'm not at home and can verify my claims now but this is the steps i would do: ...

And you should probably solve the flickering video issue before doing this...


I've reread this topic and seems that bigmac wants to boot the X5000 installer. Are you all saying that copying the X5000 Install iso to a USB stick and booting from that USB stick will load the installer?


Yeah it works, without doubt.
i have had the X5k for several years now and done quite a few installations whenever there's been an iso release, always from USB stick.
Optical Media is DEAD :)
The only reason for me to have a dvd drive is to fill the empty hole in my case, the drive is not connected.

Re: How to burn working boot cd from Hyperion image?

PostPosted: Mon Jun 18, 2018 4:49 pm
by xenic
smf wrote:Yeah it works, without doubt.
i have had the X5k for several years now and done quite a few installations whenever there's been an iso release, always from USB stick.
Optical Media is DEAD :)
The only reason for me to have a dvd drive is to fill the empty hole in my case, the drive is not connected.

Did you copy the iso to the USBstick or copy the files from the iso file to the USB stick?

Re: How to burn working boot cd from Hyperion image?

PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2018 9:30 am
by bigmac
Hi! guys all's well up and going at last flicker was caused by faulty monitor power supply many thanks for all your help and suggestions. I burned 6 coasters using the Iso file from Hyperion's website and binned the lot. Then I remembered I backed up my original iso long ago and thankfully it was still there and more importantly it burned and booted my x5000. :D Still don't know what gives with the iso on Hyperion's website could it be corrupted or has Windows 10 anything to do with it who knows just glad to be up and running again.

Re: How to burn working boot cd from Hyperion image?

PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2018 10:21 am
by smf
xenic wrote:
smf wrote:Yeah it works, without doubt.
i have had the X5k for several years now and done quite a few installations whenever there's been an iso release, always from USB stick.
Optical Media is DEAD :)
The only reason for me to have a dvd drive is to fill the empty hole in my case, the drive is not connected.

Did you copy the iso to the USBstick or copy the files from the iso file to the USB stick?


Mostly by copy the iso to the usbstick, i use the tool rawwrite http://wiki.amiga.org/index.php?title=File:RawWrite.zip

Re: How to burn working boot cd from Hyperion image?

PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2018 3:15 pm
by xenic
smf wrote:Mostly by copy the iso to the usbstick, i use the tool rawwrite http://wiki.amiga.org/index.php?title=File:RawWrite.zip

Based on the warning at the top of that page, I don't think I'll risk using rawdisk.

Re: How to burn working boot cd from Hyperion image?

PostPosted: Thu Jun 21, 2018 10:04 am
by smf
xenic wrote:
smf wrote:Mostly by copy the iso to the usbstick, i use the tool rawwrite http://wiki.amiga.org/index.php?title=File:RawWrite.zip

Based on the warning at the top of that page, I don't think I'll risk using rawdisk.


Don't you worry, it's quality work from Tony Wyatt :D
Probably just some autogenerated warning from MediaWiki as all downloads from the wiki has that warning afaik.

Re: How to burn working boot cd from Hyperion image?

PostPosted: Thu Jun 21, 2018 5:04 pm
by xenic
smf wrote:Don't you worry, it's quality work from Tony Wyatt :D
Probably just some autogenerated warning from MediaWiki as all downloads from the wiki has that warning afaik.

It looks like bigmac has solved his problem and I came up with a sloppy workaround to get AmiDVD to burn the iso to a CD-R. I don't need a USB stick 'Installer'. I already have an emergency boot USB stick that I made by copying my hard-disk System partition to an NGFS formatted USB stick.

Re: How to burn working boot cd from Hyperion image?

PostPosted: Thu Jun 21, 2018 9:57 pm
by daveyw
bigmac wrote:Still don't know what gives with the iso on Hyperion's website could it be corrupted or has Windows 10 anything to do with it who knows just glad to be up and running again.


I have a vague recollection that it was advised to download and burn the Hyperion isos on Windows and not use an Amiga browser, dating back to the original 4.0 days. Can't remember why, perhaps this jogs someone else's memory?

I'm fairly certain I downloaded it and burnt a CD from my A1XE, so I might be talking rubbish here.