Page 3 of 4

Re: openSUSE 13.2

PostPosted: Fri May 29, 2015 12:32 pm
by musa
xeno74 wrote:
Sorry only text mode is possible currently.

it is possible that the missing text was due to my choice of language (Danish).

Re: openSUSE 13.2

PostPosted: Fri May 29, 2015 5:42 pm
by xeno74
musa wrote:
xeno74 wrote:
Sorry only text mode is possible currently.

it is possible that the missing text was due to my choice of language (Danish).


Yes, it is possible. I chose English for my installation. Could you try it with English again, please?

Many thanks for testing the installation of openSUSE 13.2 via initrd. :-)

Re: openSUSE 13.2

PostPosted: Fri May 29, 2015 6:54 pm
by musa
xeno74 wrote:
Yes, it is possible. I chose English for my installation. Could you try it with English again, please?

Many thanks for testing the installation of openSUSE 13.2 via initrd. :-)


Ok language should be English. Now I get to the hard drive option and I have a little trouble figuring out what I'm going to do here. It is quite clear that I should not do as installation suggests because then I format my amiga system located on sda with multiple partitions. The partition I was going to use for Suse is sdb4, but if I try to change it to contain / the system tell me That / already placed. So I'm a bit stuck right now :)

Re: openSUSE 13.2

PostPosted: Fri May 29, 2015 7:26 pm
by musa
musa wrote:
xeno74 wrote:
Yes, it is possible. I chose English for my installation. Could you try it with English again, please?

Many thanks for testing the installation of openSUSE 13.2 via initrd. :-)


Ok language should be English. Now I get to the hard drive option and I have a little trouble figuring out what I'm going to do here. It is quite clear that I should not do as installation suggests because then I format my amiga system located on sda with multiple partitions. The partition I was going to use for Suse is sdb4, but if I try to change it to contain / the system tell me That / already placed. So I'm a bit stuck right now :)

Forget it. I found out about it and is now underway with the installation :)

Re: openSUSE 13.2

PostPosted: Fri May 29, 2015 9:09 pm
by musa
Ok I'm inside now. I have output on both graphics cards, but the system running

Re: openSUSE 13.2

PostPosted: Sat May 30, 2015 7:51 pm
by xeno74
musa wrote:Ok I'm inside now. I have output on both graphics cards, but the system running


Fantastic! Could you post a screenshot, please?

Re: openSUSE 13.2

PostPosted: Sat May 30, 2015 11:32 pm
by musa
xeno74 wrote:
Fantastic! Could you post a screenshot, please?

Ok
I tested Gnome and gnome-Openbox : will not start.
I tested mate and it works but freeze sometimes
The attachment Skærmbillede6.png is no longer available

I have tested xfce and it works
Skærmbillede3.png


I have tested enlightment: does not work
I'm having problems with Firefox that will not start from icon but but sometimes, from a terminal
The attachment Skærmbillede2.png is no longer available

When the system starts and about where X should start nothing happens but after 2 min Suse background is coming but no login. Then there will be black screen and after 4 min comes Suse background again, this time with login
Sorry for my english :)

Re: openSUSE 13.2

PostPosted: Sun May 31, 2015 6:01 am
by xeno74
Hi Musa,

Many thanks for testing! :-)

Rgds,

Christian

Re: openSUSE 13.2

PostPosted: Fri Oct 09, 2015 7:08 pm
by zappa2009
Hi I have testet the Installation with Kernel 4.2 and with the initrd.

Installation works,
But after reboot i must do a mount -o rw,remount /dev/sda4 to edit /etc/fstab (change from UUID to /dev/sda4)
Back to shell and do as root -> X -Configure and cp Xorg.conf.new /etc/X11/xorf.conf
Now it boots after a reboot into my LXDE-Desktop but without Network

How can i setup Network (my RTL8139) ?

Greetz Zappa2009

BTW. Boot with Kernel 3.9.8-OpenSuse and with 4.1.10 do the same.

Re: openSUSE 13.2

PostPosted: Sun Oct 11, 2015 6:23 pm
by xeno74
zappa2009 wrote:Hi I have testet the Installation with Kernel 4.2 and with the initrd.

Installation works,
But after reboot i must do a mount -o rw,remount /dev/sda4 to edit /etc/fstab (change from UUID to /dev/sda4)
Back to shell and do as root -> X -Configure and cp Xorg.conf.new /etc/X11/xorf.conf
Now it boots after a reboot into my LXDE-Desktop but without Network

How can i setup Network (my RTL8139) ?

Greetz Zappa2009

BTW. Boot with Kernel 3.9.8-OpenSuse and with 4.1.10 do the same.


Did you try to configure network with YaST2?