Page 1 of 2

PCIe Gigabit ethernet??

PostPosted: Fri May 17, 2019 1:32 am
by LyleHaze
I ordered a RTL8111E network card, PCIe, for my X1000
It shows up as 8168 in Ranger, with numbers "compatible" with the RTL8169 driver.
0x10ec 0x8168

As soon as the driver opens the card, I get a "machine check" exception.

I read the forums, but I'm finding it hard to get a specific "this will work" PCIe card name and number.

Off to AmigaKit, and also AOTL, but no PCIe ethernet cards appear from either website search.

So rather than keep on buying and trying, can someone point me to as specific card information as possible for a working PCIe gigabit ethernet card?

Thanks
Lyle

Re: PCIe Gigabit ethernet??

PostPosted: Fri May 17, 2019 7:35 am
by Raziel
@lylehaze

from a little derailed thread on amigans.net

Amazon listing

Model

RTL8111E

Specifications

Controller Processor: Realtek RTL8111E
Data Rate(s) Supported: 10M,100M,1Gbps(1000 Mbps).
Single-Lane (x1) PCI-Express with transfer rate 2.5Gb/s Full Duplex channelĀ 
Compliant with PCI Express Revision 1.0a.
PCI Express x1 interface, compatible with PCI Express x1, x4, x8, x16 slots.
Supports Full Duplex flow control (IEEE 802.3x).
Fully compliant with IEEE802.3, 802.3ab, 802.3u, 802.3x, 802.1q, VLAN.
Supports IEEE 802.1P Layer 2 Priority Encoding
Plug and Play Support.
OS supported: designed for Windows 98SE, Windows ME, Windows 2000, XP, Vista, Windows 7 /8 / 10, Mac, Linux/Unix and others.

Package included:

1 x PCIE Giga LAN Card
1 x Low Profile Bracket
1 x Driver CD


Shows up in Ranger as:
ID: Bus: 0x12 Device: 0x00 Function: 0x00
Class: Base: 0x02 Sub: 0x00 IFace: 0x00 (Ethernet Controller)
Device: 0x8168 Rev: 0x06 (RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller)
Vendor: 0x10EC (Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd.)
Header Type: Normal
Cacheline Size: 32 Bytes
Status: CapList FastDevSel
Capabilities: BusMaster Intercard
Command: IO Master Int
Interrupt: Line: 0x30 Pin: A Number: 64

Re: PCIe Gigabit ethernet??

PostPosted: Fri May 17, 2019 1:20 pm
by LyleHaze
Thank you.
It looks identical to the one I purchased.
I'm now buying another brand.. I'll know on Sunday.

Thanks,
Lyle

Re: PCIe Gigabit ethernet??

PostPosted: Fri May 17, 2019 7:44 pm
by sundown
LyleHaze wrote:Thank you.
It looks identical to the one I purchased.
I'm now buying another brand.. I'll know on Sunday.

Thanks,
Lyle

I was going to buy one from Amazon to try out. Raziel, I believe, is using FE 1, we are using beta & the 8169 driver had a beta update.
If you can, try rtl8169.device v53.4 & see if it works.

Ken

Re: PCIe Gigabit ethernet??

PostPosted: Fri May 17, 2019 7:54 pm
by Raziel
sundown wrote:
LyleHaze wrote:Thank you.
It looks identical to the one I purchased.
I'm now buying another brand.. I'll know on Sunday.

Thanks,
Lyle

I was going to buy one from Amazon to try out. Raziel, I believe, is using FE 1, we are using beta & the 8169 driver had a beta update.
If you can, try rtl8169.device v53.4 & see if it works.

Ken

Correct.

I hope that doesn't mean the rtl8169 driver has been brokegraded?

I tried the little thing in the two possible slots i could to still have my gfx card usable (the topmost and the bottom one -> with XORRO slot).
The card works in both.

Re: PCIe Gigabit ethernet??

PostPosted: Fri May 17, 2019 8:01 pm
by LyleHaze
The exact brand you specified was not available here, but I chose one that is using the exact same photo.
I can try different driver versions also.
I'm glad I have help, sometimes the experience of a group is indispensable.

Re: PCIe Gigabit ethernet??

PostPosted: Fri May 17, 2019 8:06 pm
by sundown
Could still be a change on the card itself & not the driver. Severin is a beta tester & he bought an 8111 pci-e card that works for him.
This one https://tinyurl.com/yyhp2nyc

Ken

Re: PCIe Gigabit ethernet??

PostPosted: Fri May 17, 2019 8:34 pm
by Raziel
LyleHaze wrote:The exact brand you specified was not available here, but I chose one that is using the exact same photo.
I can try different driver versions also.
I'm glad I have help, sometimes the experience of a group is indispensable.

Unfortunately the picture on Amazon doesn't mean a thing.
Most small sellers just c&p those to save time.

Wish you good luck with the new card.

Please report back

Re: PCIe Gigabit ethernet??

PostPosted: Fri May 17, 2019 11:26 pm
by LyleHaze
Most Interesting.
My (failing) card has the same class, device, vendor, and revision as yours.
But the "Cacheline size" here is 64 bytes, there is 32.

I wonder what the postman will bring me on Sunday?

Meanwhile, I pullled the photos from Amazon. The listings are using diffferent photos, but the PCBs are (almost) identical. One has a few legend marks added, but they are the same board number and revision.
So, cacheline size is the only noticeable difference so far.. More will be revealed..

Re: PCIe Gigabit ethernet??

PostPosted: Sat May 18, 2019 8:10 pm
by PJS
LYLE!

Stranger!!

FWIW, I found a PCIe card with a RTL-8168B chipset that's been working fine
in my X5K (and doesn't even conflict with my PCI audio card!):

TP-Link TG-3468
https://www.stormcomputers.com.au/produ ... b-chipset/

According to Ranger, it shows up as:

Device = 0x8168 Rev 0x06
Vendor = 0x10EC (N/A)

I'm using it with this driver:

rtl8169.device 53.6 (02/22/2017)

It looks like it's still available for $13:

https://www.amazon.com/TP-Link-Gigabit- ... B003CFATNI

I hope this helps get you online... maybe even come by the corner
and say Hello! ;D

PJS