Page 1 of 2

X1000 + Sapphire X1950 GT fail ?

PostPosted: Thu Mar 21, 2019 6:09 pm
by Benny
This card, the Sapphire X1950GT boots and displays a picture on my AmigaONE 500 aka Sam460ex.
It works fine!

Putting the card in my X1000, it displays the OS41FE bootlogo but stays there forever.
Tried to boot from my SSD with Update1, and from the 41FE CD.

It is not really a great problem, I just want to run some benchmarks, but should this card simply operate fine ?

Re: X1000 + Sapphire X1950 GT fail ?

PostPosted: Fri Mar 22, 2019 2:25 pm
by ddni
Hi, that card isnt listed here:
http://hdrlab.org.nz/projects/amiga-os- ... atibility/

It may not be compatible. What drivers are you using?

Re: X1000 + Sapphire X1950 GT fail ?

PostPosted: Wed Mar 27, 2019 2:34 pm
by Benny
ddni wrote:Hi, that card isnt listed here:
http://hdrlab.org.nz/projects/amiga-os- ... atibility/

It may not be compatible. What drivers are you using?


Radeon HD 2.22

But no problem, I replaced the card allready by 7750's.

I just wondered that the card works 100% in my Sam460ex but not in the X1000.

Re: X1000 + Sapphire X1950 GT fail ?

PostPosted: Wed Mar 27, 2019 4:10 pm
by Raziel
Benny wrote:
ddni wrote:Hi, that card isnt listed here:
http://hdrlab.org.nz/projects/amiga-os- ... atibility/

It may not be compatible. What drivers are you using?


Radeon HD 2.22

But no problem, I replaced the card allready by 7750's.

I just wondered that the card works 100% in my Sam460ex but not in the X1000.

Probably because the sam did get firmware updates, while the x1000 still has it's years old UBoot which is known to have unsupported stuff.

Congrats on the 7750, i use one myself.

Re: X1000 + Sapphire X1950 GT fail ?

PostPosted: Wed Mar 27, 2019 6:20 pm
by nbache
Raziel wrote:Probably because the sam did get firmware updates, while the x1000 still has it's years old UBoot which is known to have unsupported stuff.
The X1000 doesn't use UBoot at all, it uses CFE.

Best regards,

Niels

Re: X1000 + Sapphire X1950 GT fail ?

PostPosted: Wed Mar 27, 2019 7:59 pm
by Raziel
nbache wrote:
Raziel wrote:Probably because the sam did get firmware updates, while the x1000 still has it's years old UBoot which is known to have unsupported stuff.
The X1000 doesn't use UBoot at all, it uses CFE.

Best regards,

Niels

UBoot, CFE, all the same

Re: X1000 + Sapphire X1950 GT fail ?

PostPosted: Wed Mar 27, 2019 9:18 pm
by Benny
Raziel wrote:
nbache wrote:
Raziel wrote:Probably because the sam did get firmware updates, while the x1000 still has it's years old UBoot which is known to have unsupported stuff.
The X1000 doesn't use UBoot at all, it uses CFE.

Best regards,

Niels

UBoot, CFE, all the same


On both Amigaone’s the CFE/Uboot bootscreen is displayed, only the X1000 stays forever at displaying the OS4.1 logo.

Re: X1000 + Sapphire X1950 GT fail ?

PostPosted: Wed Mar 27, 2019 10:56 pm
by Raziel
I get these kind of "freezes" a lot (with my 7750) after a crash or freeze of a program, where i have to reboot (no matter if software or hardware reboot).

I tried to debug it with serial logs, but it's too much internals which i don't know how to rectify.
Essentially it stalls at displaying the logo screen because of something in the USB stack freezes.
I get a call on serial to some massstorage.device (where non is inserted/installed) but never a return message.
(The only hubs i have installed is one to make the USB3 front port work and one that goes to the USB input of my monitor (which provides two more simple USB ports).
What it (wrongly) defines as massstorage is beyond me.

And it's unfortunately not reproducable either.
On the very first boot it "normally" passes, on a reboot after a crash it "normally" freezes...

Ah well, the wonders of a niche system...

Re: X1000 + Sapphire X1950 GT fail ?

PostPosted: Thu Apr 04, 2019 9:57 am
by Benny
Raziel wrote:I get these kind of "freezes" a lot (with my 7750) after a crash or freeze of a program, where i have to reboot (no matter if software or hardware reboot).

<cut>
And it's unfortunately not reproducable either.
On the very first boot it "normally" passes, on a reboot after a crash it "normally" freezes...

Ah well, the wonders of a niche system...


Yes, the same here. After a Grimreaper, a softreboot does not work, a hardreset does not work, only putting the machine to sleep helps.
And not always, but most of the time.

My Amigaone 500 has the same 'feature' ;)

Re: X1000 + Sapphire X1950 GT fail ?

PostPosted: Thu Apr 11, 2019 9:58 am
by Raziel
@Benny

First of all i'm glad that it's not only my machine and second, if more systems are affected maybe a CFE update could fix this behaviour?
Wasn't there talks that CFE might get an update?