Page 1 of 1

BT Broadband wifi

PostPosted: Sun May 25, 2014 5:31 pm
by SteveH
Does anyone know how to get the X1000 to connect to a BT Broadband wifi hotspot? I have a BT Broadband account, so from my Windows laptop I can freely connect to a nearby wifi hotspot - but when I try doing the same with the X1000 (using PCI wireless card and Prism2 driver), I can't get a connection.
I guess I need to edit my wireless--startup to authenticate my connection - does anyone know how to do this? The entry currently reads:
Code: Select all
C:SetPrism2Defaults SSID BTwifi-with-FON MANAGED

If I can connect to BT wifi hotspot, it saves me having to change my router's security to WEP every time I want to get online with the X1000.
Thanks
Steve

Re: BT Broadband wifi

PostPosted: Wed Jun 25, 2014 2:48 pm
by ddni
Sorry not sure.
An alternative to wifi is home plug ethernet. I use them and they work great.

Re: BT Broadband wifi

PostPosted: Wed Jun 25, 2014 5:12 pm
by danbeaver
Or a wireless bridge. I've used one on my X1000 without any problems; it is USB powered and has good range.

Re: BT Broadband wifi

PostPosted: Fri Jun 27, 2014 5:32 pm
by xenic
SteveH wrote:If I can connect to BT wifi hotspot, it saves me having to change my router's security to WEP every time I want to get online with the X1000.
Thanks
Steve


I'm guessing that you need to switch to WEP because prism only supports WEP. I use a NETGEAR WNCE2001 ethernet WiFi adapter which has more recent security options. It has a builtin HTML setup page so there is no need for external programs. Maybe it's the same thing that danbeaver is calling a wireless bridge. It plugs into the X1000 ethernet port and works well for me. It comes with a USB cable that can be used to power the device so that it comes on when you turn on the computer.

Re: BT Broadband wifi

PostPosted: Fri Jun 27, 2014 9:09 pm
by danbeaver
Yes, a wireless bridge is an Ethernet-to-WiFi adapter; mine is a Zuni ZR301F that can be logged into and changed into a wireless bridge, wireless router, or a wireless extender. It cost about 30 USD a couple of years ago.