Still have graphics corruption with new Radeon Driver

AmigaOne X1000 platform specific issues.

Still have graphics corruption with new Radeon Driver

Postby xenic » Thu Apr 04, 2013 9:30 pm

When I first received my X1000, I reported minor graphics corruption with my HD5450 graphics card. I was told that Hans had solved the problem and that the new driver was in beta testing. I was advised to wait for the update before buying a different graphics card. At Amigans.net I saw that a new driver was available at A-EON's WEB site and that the driver would be released as v1. I D/L the new driver and it doesn't fix my graphics glitches. Am I correct in assuming that I will need to replace the graphics card to get rid of the graphics glitches?

Here are some of the problems I reported initially and still exist with the new driver:

1. On the "Early Startup Control" screen at the bottom of the "Select Boot Drive Lister", the up and down arrows are always missing or replaced with a rectangular block of blue. I've never seen this on my other OS4 hardware.

2. The PPaint screen has colored spots left in the paint area when I move the pointer around without pressing any buttons. This doesn't occur on my SAM or uA1.

3. In the Dopus4 configuration window on the System/Clocks page, the "Clock/Memory bar ..." checkmark blocks have small blue horizontal bars which shouldn't be there. As with the other problems, they don't occur on my SAM or uA1.
AmigaOne X1000 with 2GB memory - OS4.1 FE
xenic
 
Posts: 1160
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 1:06 am

Re: Still have graphics corruption with new Radeon Driver

Postby trevordick » Fri Apr 05, 2013 9:50 am

I don't have these problems with the new RadeonHD driver with my HD5450. Did you also download and install the RadeonHD.chip file?

Trevor
I'm just Breezin'
User avatar
trevordick
A-Eon Technology
A-Eon Technology
 
Posts: 1380
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 2:28 pm

Re: Still have graphics corruption with new Radeon Driver

Postby zappa2009 » Fri Apr 05, 2013 4:29 pm

@xenic check the Version of your RadeonHD.chip in Sys:Kickstart.

I have only updated the RadeonHD.Chip to v0.55 and let the PCIgraphics.card unchanged (Version is the same as my aktuall).

My Glitches are gone with the new 0.55er Version.
X1000 RadeonHD5450 4GB (2x2GB) DDR2-PC2-8500 Kingston HyperX 5-5-5-5-15 OS4.1.6 & Lubuntu13.04/mintppc11 with Kernel 3.8.7/3.9
User avatar
zappa2009
 
Posts: 230
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2011 1:17 pm

Re: Still have graphics corruption with new Radeon Driver

Postby cha05e90 » Fri Apr 05, 2013 6:57 pm

xenic wrote:2. The PPaint screen has colored spots left in the paint area when I move the pointer around without pressing any buttons. This doesn't occur on my SAM or uA1.

I can at least confirm this one, but another graphics card: Sapphire 6570.
X1000|II/G4|440ep|2000/060|2000/040|1000
User avatar
cha05e90
 
Posts: 89
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2011 11:15 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Still have graphics corruption with new Radeon Driver

Postby xenic » Fri Apr 05, 2013 7:17 pm

trevordick wrote:I don't have these problems with the new RadeonHD driver with my HD5450. Did you also download and install the RadeonHD.chip file?
Trevor

Yes. I'm now using RadeonHD.chip v 0.55 which I downloaded yesterday. There does seem to be an inconsistant improvement in my Dopus4 screen. Sometimes the lister arrows look fine and sometimes they look semi-ghosted. If my initial Dopus4 screen opens without glitches then any subsequent opening of other Dopus4 screens (multiple Dopus4 programs) also open without the glitches. PPaint still has trails of color when moving the pointer. In light of the fact that you don't have problems and zappa2009's glitches were fixed by the new RadeonHD.chip, I should probably contact AmiKit and see if I can exchange my graphics card.
AmigaOne X1000 with 2GB memory - OS4.1 FE
xenic
 
Posts: 1160
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 1:06 am

Re: Still have graphics corruption with new Radeon Driver

Postby zzd10h » Sat Apr 06, 2013 12:05 pm

Hi xenic,
I had glitches too on 5450.

For test I replug my HD5450 with the new RadeonHD driver and now all works.
SysMon reports me well the 0.55 level driver.

DOpus, TuneNet and AmiPDF are OK now (even after multiples restart).

http://zzd10h.amiga-ng.org/X1000/zzd10h_HD5450_OK.jpg

I will replug my 6670 but
congratulations Hans (and A-Eon) !
http://apps.amistore.net/zTools
X1000 - AmigaOS 4.1.6 / 4.1 FE
zzd10h
 
Posts: 546
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2012 6:40 am
Location: France


Return to Platform: AmigaOne X1000

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests