Sometimes the X1000 doesn't boot [SOLVED]

AmigaOne X1000 platform specific issues.

Re: Sometimes the X1000 doesn't boot

Postby xeno74 » Fri Jul 26, 2013 8:35 pm

@Christopher

Thanks a lot for your answer. :) The most important question for me is: Is it a serious problem of the nemo board? Is it better to exchange the nemo board?
http://www.amigalinux.org
http://www.supertuxkart-amiga.de

Running Linux on AmigaONEs can require some tinkering.
User avatar
xeno74
 
Posts: 5303
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 8:58 am

Re: Sometimes the X1000 doesn't boot

Postby Christopher Follett » Fri Jul 26, 2013 11:29 pm

xeno74 wrote:@Christopher

Thanks a lot for your answer. :) The most important question for me is: Is it a serious problem of the nemo board? Is it better to exchange the nemo board?

If it was a serious problem, then it would be there all the time and not work.

I think we are still talking about different issues from your issue, but they are simular.
I don't see what changing the board will solve as (guessing here) it could happen to any, it only seemed to happen when I was messing with stuff, doing non standard stuff in testing.

The one I investigated, after I managed to correct it. never happened again and booted and shut down everytime without issue.

The main test to see if you have this issue, is when you press the power button for 3 seconds. If the machine shuts down instantly as soon as button is pressed, then its in this weird mode and it wont boot back up, using the power switch. As experienced by myself in testing.

All I did to get it out of this state was;

Remove mains, then remove atx connector for motherboard, then switch RAM to other slot (if you have two, remove one).
Then put ATX connector back in, then mains, then turn on.
I then let it boot fully to OS4.1 and then held finger on button, it then took 3 secs, which is correct.

After these steps, the machine worked every single boot, without issue.
Resolute and Industrious
Grand ruler of the yellow people and the Ultimate Amiga Empire

http://www.ultimateamiga.co.uk (Home of SONY PSP Amiga Emulator and AMOS Factory)
__________________
Customer Help & Support: http://www.amigakit.com/help

http://www.amigakit.com - the Amiga store

New Products
User avatar
Christopher Follett
AmigaKit
AmigaKit
 
Posts: 650
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2011 6:56 pm
Location: Wales, UK

Re: Sometimes the X1000 doesn't boot

Postby 328gts » Sun Jul 28, 2013 7:02 am

@ Christopher Follett

thanks again for the helpful tips Chris & also for further explanation here.

@ xeno74

hope this fixes your boot problem as well. If you have any questions just ask
A1-X1000 setup: Corsair GS800 800w PSU, Western Digital 250 GB SATA HDD (model:WD2500YS), 4GB Ram, Radeon HD7950-3GB GDDR5- Dual Slot, Lite-On RW DVD/CD, On-Board Nemo sound,8139B NIC, Catweasel MK4+
User avatar
328gts
 
Posts: 541
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2011 6:53 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Sometimes the X1000 doesn't boot

Postby xeno74 » Mon Jul 29, 2013 11:17 pm

328gts wrote:@ Christopher Follett

thanks again for the helpful tips Chris & also for further explanation here.

@ xeno74

hope this fixes your boot problem as well. If you have any questions just ask


Unfortunately your steps didn't help. :( When the X1000 doesn't boot then the forth LED flashes (on the right side next to the three activ LEDs) shortly and permanent.

boot_problem_x1000_xeno74.jpg
(120.48 KiB) Downloaded 736 times


The LED of the internal network chip flashes also in the same time shortly and permanent.
http://www.amigalinux.org
http://www.supertuxkart-amiga.de

Running Linux on AmigaONEs can require some tinkering.
User avatar
xeno74
 
Posts: 5303
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 8:58 am

Re: Sometimes the X1000 doesn't boot

Postby xeno74 » Tue Jul 30, 2013 1:44 am

OK, I think it has sometimes a CPU core supply fault.

Re: X1000 broken

Postby LyleHaze » Mon Feb 18, 2013 11:30 pm
Just for the record: TRM 1.5 Page 18, Table 9 says there are 6 LEDs.. There are in fact 8.
Also, for those with less than perfect eyesight, With the board mounted in the factory case,
the LED's are numbered from LED8 on the left to LED1 on the right side.

LED8 and LED7 are driven from each core of Xena, and will glow slightly when Xena is in idle_reset state.

If you will look to the right..
LED1 is labeled "General Power Supply Fault"
LED2 is labeled "CPU Core Supply Fault"


When the X1000 doesn't boot then the LED2 lit on in regular short intervals.
Last edited by xeno74 on Tue Jul 30, 2013 2:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.
http://www.amigalinux.org
http://www.supertuxkart-amiga.de

Running Linux on AmigaONEs can require some tinkering.
User avatar
xeno74
 
Posts: 5303
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 8:58 am

Re: Sometimes the X1000 doesn't boot

Postby 328gts » Tue Jul 30, 2013 6:17 am

@ xeno74

strange as I didn't have the constantly flashing LED's when mine wouldn't boot? boot I'm not convinced it's a CPU voltage problem just yet as your start up problems sound almost identical to mine.

do you have a PCI-e to PCI extender card?
have you tried replacing the PSU?
where are your ram stick located?
have you tried installing your video card in another PCI-e slot?
A1-X1000 setup: Corsair GS800 800w PSU, Western Digital 250 GB SATA HDD (model:WD2500YS), 4GB Ram, Radeon HD7950-3GB GDDR5- Dual Slot, Lite-On RW DVD/CD, On-Board Nemo sound,8139B NIC, Catweasel MK4+
User avatar
328gts
 
Posts: 541
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2011 6:53 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Sometimes the X1000 doesn't boot

Postby xeno74 » Tue Jul 30, 2013 12:11 pm

328gts wrote:@ xeno74

strange as I didn't have the constantly flashing LED's when mine wouldn't boot? boot I'm not convinced it's a CPU voltage problem just yet as your start up problems sound almost identical to mine.

do you have a PCI-e to PCI extender card?
have you tried replacing the PSU?
where are your ram stick located?
have you tried installing your video card in another PCI-e slot?


No, I don't have a PCI-e to PCI extender card.
I replaced the PSU two months ago.
All ram banks are occupied.
I replaced the HD6870 with a Radeon 9250 PCI two months ago.

My X1000: http://www.supertuxkart-amiga.de/amiga/x1000.html
Last edited by xeno74 on Tue Jul 30, 2013 1:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.
http://www.amigalinux.org
http://www.supertuxkart-amiga.de

Running Linux on AmigaONEs can require some tinkering.
User avatar
xeno74
 
Posts: 5303
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 8:58 am

Re: Sometimes the X1000 doesn't boot

Postby xeno74 » Tue Jul 30, 2013 1:24 pm

These steps have I done in the last months:

I replaced the PSU two months ago.
I replaced the HD6870 with a Radeon 9250 PCI two months ago.
I replaced all ram sticks.
I tested it with only one ram stick in various banks.
I installed 2GB Ram stick from the right side of PA6T to the opposite side.
I tested the X1000 with a lot of keyboards and mouses.
I replaced the dvd drive.
I replaced the network card.
I unplugged the power cords and replugged at the graphics card and power supply.
I pulled everything except power and vga.
I removed the sound card.
I plugged the network card to another pci slot.
I have downclocked the CPU to 500 MHz etc (CFE: set pmu -astate=XX).
I removed the glue on the nemo board.

If I have switched the power switch off, then I wait 60 seconds and then I press the power switch on.
http://www.amigalinux.org
http://www.supertuxkart-amiga.de

Running Linux on AmigaONEs can require some tinkering.
User avatar
xeno74
 
Posts: 5303
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 8:58 am

Re: Sometimes the X1000 doesn't boot

Postby 328gts » Wed Jul 31, 2013 6:12 am

@ xeno74

ok thanks for the info.

let's start:
- turn off power to PSU
- remove plug from PSU
- remove power connector to NEMO
- take out one ram card (leave only one to the right of PA6T i.e closest to back of case)
- plug power connector back on NEMO
- connect PSU power & switch on PSU
- turn on X1000

if X1000 boots up to WB, press and hold the power button for 3-5 seconds & it should shut off.
A1-X1000 setup: Corsair GS800 800w PSU, Western Digital 250 GB SATA HDD (model:WD2500YS), 4GB Ram, Radeon HD7950-3GB GDDR5- Dual Slot, Lite-On RW DVD/CD, On-Board Nemo sound,8139B NIC, Catweasel MK4+
User avatar
328gts
 
Posts: 541
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2011 6:53 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Sometimes the X1000 doesn't boot

Postby xeno74 » Thu Aug 01, 2013 12:06 pm

328gts wrote:@ xeno74

ok thanks for the info.

let's start:
- turn off power to PSU
- remove plug from PSU
- remove power connector to NEMO
- take out one ram card (leave only one to the right of PA6T i.e closest to back of case)
- plug power connector back on NEMO
- connect PSU power & switch on PSU
- turn on X1000

if X1000 boots up to WB, press and hold the power button for 3-5 seconds & it should shut off.


Thank you very much for your help. I have sent my Nemo board to AmigaKit. I hope they can help me.
http://www.amigalinux.org
http://www.supertuxkart-amiga.de

Running Linux on AmigaONEs can require some tinkering.
User avatar
xeno74
 
Posts: 5303
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 8:58 am

PreviousNext

Return to Platform: AmigaOne X1000

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron