Page 2 of 2

Re: Amiga OS4.1 update 3 issues

PostPosted: Tue Nov 15, 2011 10:31 pm
by mechanic
Do you have a active swap partition?

I do not. Maybe............................................. :?:

Re: Amiga OS4.1 update 3 issues

PostPosted: Wed Nov 16, 2011 1:27 am
by nbache
JosDuchIt wrote:where is UsbCtrlRestart to be found?
Note the space. USBCtrl is a command, found in C:. RESTART is an argument to the USBCtrl command.

So you write "USBCtrl RESTART".

Best regards,

Niels

Re: Amiga OS4.1 update 3 issues

PostPosted: Wed Nov 16, 2011 1:41 am
by Gebrochen
mechanic wrote:Do you have a active swap partition?

I do not. Maybe............................................. :?:



Well infact I do have several swap partitions. One of them to duel boot into Linux, another created for the RAM disk at 10gb, etc...................

Cheers

P.S. But its only started being like this since the update, and I had swap partitions before!

Re: Amiga OS4.1 update 3 issues

PostPosted: Thu Nov 17, 2011 6:15 pm
by xenic
@nbache
Note the space. USBCtrl is a command, found in C:. RESTART is an argument to the USBCtrl command.

Thanks for clarifying that. Sometimes I get lost in the forums and forget to come back and check responses. Since I posted my message about using USBCtrl, I have discovered that the "USBCtrl Restart" will freeze my system if there is a USB media device (like a memory stick) plugged into one of the USB ports when I issue the command. I reported the problem in the General OS4.x forum and one other SAM Flex user confirmed it. Nobody else responded so I'm not sure if it is a SAM problem or a general problem.

Re: Amiga OS4.1 update 3 issues

PostPosted: Fri Nov 18, 2011 2:15 pm
by Gebrochen
@ All

Interesting, Ive noticed not experiencing any issues with copying multiple large files, or small via the sam flex system, bearing in mind this system only has one HDD and is not duel boot system, meaning only AOS on it and not Linux or AROS!!!

My other system sam440ep, has 2 HDD, one AOS, one swap on the AOS HDD to run the Linux OS which is on the secondary HD, bearing in mind the swap file to run the OS is on the Primary HDD!!! Copying via workbench since update always going nowwhere, even ending up freezing the entire system, making it unable to multi task while copying.

On the flex, totally different experience with only AOS and one HDD for the system, workbench copying fine to portable tb HDD, while multitasking listening to music, browsing web, etc!!!!

Any further thoughts how to fix it for my sam440ep system, or is it a genuine bug now that will finally get fixed for AOS 4.1.4 (update 4)???

Cheers

P.S. Thomas from AmiBoing is experiencing similar issues, but can over ride this by using the back usb ports, tried that on my sam440ep, no go. NAturally no need to try it on sam flex as it copies fine via workbench via front ports!

Re: Amiga OS4.1 update 3 issues

PostPosted: Fri Nov 18, 2011 10:20 pm
by mechanic
Just something to try, you can always put it back.

Using Media Toolbox unmark the SWAP for automount. Reboot.

???

Re: Amiga OS4.1 update 3 issues

PostPosted: Fri Nov 25, 2011 4:08 pm
by Hypex
mechanic wrote:Just something to try, you can always put it back.


I think the problem here is Gebrochen is afraid of rendering his machine unusable Okay disabling swap is not like on a Window 95+ machine where disabling virtual memory will really render it unbootable. But it isn't the easiest to disable either. One must edit his partitions, pick the correct volume, disable it and save. Then reboot. Had this been a simple as a checkmark in a Preferences editor this would be a different story.

Gebrochen wrote:ny further thoughts how to fix it for my sam440ep system, or is it a genuine bug now that will finally get fixed for AOS 4.1.4 (update 4)???


Here a step by step how to:
1.) Open System/Media Toolbox.
2.) Your HD driver should already be selected so you can press Start.
3.) Pick your drive with AmigaOS4 and the SWAP volume.
4.) Click Edit Partitions...
5.) Now in the list of partitions you should see one named SWAP and in the least it will have a filesystem of SWAP. Click on that one.
6.) Uncheck Automount.
7.) Ok - accept changes.
8.) Save to disk.
9. Reboot. Hard reboot to be sure.

Re: Amiga OS4.1 update 3 issues

PostPosted: Thu Jan 12, 2012 3:06 pm
by kimmok
What's the status of the mentioned issues with update 4?

Re: Amiga OS4.1 update 3 issues

PostPosted: Thu Jan 12, 2012 5:11 pm
by Hypex
For Gebrochen it looks like his USB issues are solved. For the others I cannot speak of.

Re: Amiga OS4.1 update 3 issues

PostPosted: Sat Jan 21, 2012 2:42 am
by jostein_aarbakk
kimmok wrote:What's the status of the mentioned issues with update 4?

Below is a short status of the issues I reported in this thread.
(Please note that I am just a regular OS4 user, so I don't know when the issues will be fixed.).

1) "AEon Amiga mouse" gets deactivated at startup
=> Ok now. Fixed in update 4.

2) My "Razer Copperhead laser gaming mouse" gets deactivated now and then
=> Ok now. Fixed in update 4.

3) & 4) RageMem shows me that the VIDEO BUS transfer speed is reduced
=> Not fixed, but I have moved it to a new post on this forum (http://forum.hyperion-entertainment.biz/viewtopic.php?f=17&t=748).

5) USB2 read speeds seems to be limited to around 6 MB/sec
=> Not fixed. Although I don't know if this limit is hardware or software related.

6 a) When writing a DVD (via AmiDVD), max speed is still only 4xDVD
=> Not fixed.

6 b) ..and it's almost impossible to access files on my disk partitions while burning a DVD (a "freeze").
=> Not fixed.

6 c) Problems with multitasking when accessing a SATA DVD ROM (this issue is probably related to the one above).
=> Not fixed.

6 d) When copying files from a DVD to HD, the max transfer rate seems to be 2.5 MB/sec, even though the DVD rotates in full speed.
=> Not fixed.

6 e) IDETool. The DVD's spins always up to MAX rotating speed, even though I set the reading speed to 1x in IDETool
=> Not fixed.

7) I'm also experiencing "lockups" in some cases when writing to HD.
=> Not fixed.

8) "Waving effect" of the displayed image in f.ex. Multiview when scrolling a shown image horizontal or vertical.
=> Not fixed, but I have moved it to a new post on this forum (http://forum.hyperion-entertainment.biz/viewtopic.php?f=17&t=746).