VTX Radeon HD 6670 1GB GDDR3 not working

This forum is for all AmigaOne 500, Sam440 and Sam460 specific issues.

VTX Radeon HD 6670 1GB GDDR3 not working

Postby virgola » Sun Oct 12, 2014 10:22 pm

I heard that the upcoming version of Warp3D might probably support only Radeon HD 6xxx cards,
so I wanted to dump my current Sapphire Radeon HD 4650 for a newer 6670.

I have two 6670 cards:
1) Asus Radeon HD 6670 1GB GDDR5 that works fine.
2) VTX Radeon HD 6670 1GB GDDR3 that does not works under AmigaOS.

The Asus (1) has the problem of being double size.
I must give up both the PCI-e 4x and 1x, the 4x because is occupied by the video card, the 1x because I must use the onboard Sata port to attach the hard disk.

Here are the serial kernel log of the Asus, using "serial munge debuglevel=9" as a boot parameter.
http://www.locati.it/mario/sam460/Sam460_Asus_RadeonHD_6670_GDDR5_debug.txt

So I bought the VTX (2) that has a slower video memory but it is a single size card.
Once installed the VTX apparently boots just fine, I see the u-boot screen as usual, but AmigaOS hang after loading the entire kicklayout, I end up with a black screen.

Here are the serial kernel log of the VTX.
http://www.locati.it/mario/sam460/Sam460_VTX_RadeonHD_6670_GDDR3_debug.txt

I wanted to check if AmigaOS loaded using only the internal SM502 so I set u-boot to use it at boot, then I turned off.
I putted back my old Sapphire Radeon HD 4650, booted AmigaOS, selected a screen mode of the internal SM502, saved and turned off.
Putted back the VTX, and AmigaOS booted correctly using the SM502 output.
Screenmode see the VTX, but if I test any of its screenmode I get a seriously corrupted video output then the system simply hang, the only possible exit is hardware reset.
Tried many different resolutions and color depth (tried also 8bit) combinations, and each time I have to reset.

I finally checked the VTX with both my Lubuntu 14.04 and my 14.10 installation for Sam460 (thanks Spectree660!)) and the system works as expected.
The only problem is that some sparse pixel of random colors appears here and there, but nothing too disturbing.

My system details
Sam460 1.15Ghz 2GB RAM
PCI-e 4x Sil 3512, with 1 hard disk 2.5" and 1 cdrom
PCI-e 1x Envy 24 HT
AmigaOS 4.1 Update 6
RadeonHD.chip A-Eon registered v1.0, 29 March 2014
All updates from Amiupdate
User avatar
virgola
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2011 6:24 pm
Location: Bergamo, Italy

Re: VTX Radeon HD 6670 1GB GDDR3 not working

Postby Spectre660 » Sun Oct 12, 2014 11:58 pm

Your Monitor is the possible culprit .
Try disabling DDC in the monitor tooltypes .

If you have a a case with at least 6 Slots you could try one of these pcie extender cables below with your dual slot video card.
I have one to try when I get my new Sam460ex motherboard.
Had to bend the dual bracket at the bottom of the video card so that they are outside the case
and use a long screw to secure it in place but it fits in the case.
The cable will run over the SATA and audio cards
I got the 30cm length .
http://www.ameri-rack.com/ARC1-PEVX16A2-Cx_m.html
Spectre660
 
Posts: 1489
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 3:16 pm
Location: Montserrat

Re: VTX Radeon HD 6670 1GB GDDR3 not working

Postby Hans » Thu Oct 16, 2014 3:50 am

virgola wrote:Here are the serial kernel log of the Asus, using "serial munge debuglevel=9" as a boot parameter.


Please do NOT set a high debug level when dealing with graphics card problems. The debug level adjusts the kernel's debug output, not the graphics driver's. All you're doing is flooding the debug log with so much irrelevant data that any useful information gets lost. I can't tell if there's anything in the debug log to hint at the problem.

I finally checked the VTX with both my Lubuntu 14.04 and my 14.10 installation for Sam460 (thanks Spectree660!)) and the system works as expected.
The only problem is that some sparse pixel of random colors appears here and there, but nothing too disturbing.

Sparse pixels with random colours does sound disturbing. The graphics card certainly shouldn't be doing that, and might even be faulty.

The only suggestion that I have at this is to return that card, and try to get one that's listed as working on the compatibility list.

Hans
http://hdrlab.org.nz/ - Amiga OS 4 projects, programming articles and more. Home of the RadeonHD driver for Amiga OS 4.x project.
User avatar
Hans
AmigaOS Core Developer
AmigaOS Core Developer
 
Posts: 703
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 10:25 pm
Location: New Zealand

Re: VTX Radeon HD 6670 1GB GDDR3 not working

Postby virgola » Sat Oct 18, 2014 11:39 pm

@Spectre660
Tried putting "DDCMODE=Preferred" on the Radeon and PCI graphics monitors.
No changes.

@Hans
Here you are the kernel logs with debuglevel 4
http://www.locati.it/mario/sam460/Sam460_VTX_RadeonHD_6670_GDDR3_debug_4.txt
http://www.locati.it/mario/sam460/Sam460_Asus_RadeonHD_6670_GDDR5_debug_4.txt
I personally don't see anything strange at these logs, only one result in a black screen,
the other work as expected.

The graphics card certainly shouldn't be doing that, and might even be faulty
The only suggestion that I have at this is to return that card

Yes, you migh be right, but before returning the card I'll try on a PC.
Will let you know the result asap.
Last edited by virgola on Tue Oct 28, 2014 5:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
virgola
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2011 6:24 pm
Location: Bergamo, Italy

Re: VTX Radeon HD 6670 1GB GDDR3 not working

Postby virgola » Tue Oct 28, 2014 5:52 pm

I finally managed to check the VTX Radeon HD 6670 1GB GDDR3 on a PC:
it is NOT faulty, it works well both on 2D and 3D, hardware acceleration is surely working, both on Ubuntu 14.10 and on Windows 7.

This leave me puzzled as why it is not working with my Sam460 using the Radeon HD driver v1.0 by A-Eon.
The only thinkg I ca do now is to check with the updated Radeon HD driver as soon as they will be made publicly available.
User avatar
virgola
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2011 6:24 pm
Location: Bergamo, Italy

Re: VTX Radeon HD 6670 1GB GDDR3 not working

Postby Spectre660 » Tue Oct 28, 2014 9:25 pm

I have a HD6570 that only worked with a DVI to VGA adapter on a Sam440ep-flex under AmigaOS so you could experiment with the
connectors.

virgola wrote:I finally managed to check the VTX Radeon HD 6670 1GB GDDR3 on a PC:
it is NOT faulty, it works well both on 2D and 3D, hardware acceleration is surely working, both on Ubuntu 14.10 and on Windows 7.

This leave me puzzled as why it is not working with my Sam460 using the Radeon HD driver v1.0 by A-Eon.
The only thinkg I ca do now is to check with the updated Radeon HD driver as soon as they will be made publicly available.
Spectre660
 
Posts: 1489
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 3:16 pm
Location: Montserrat

Re: VTX Radeon HD 6670 1GB GDDR3 not working

Postby RobMattin » Thu Oct 30, 2014 10:43 pm

virgola wrote:I heard that the upcoming version of Warp3D might probably support only Radeon HD 6xxx cards,
so I wanted to dump my current Sapphire Radeon HD 4650 for a newer 6670.

I have two 6670 cards:
1) Asus Radeon HD 6670 1GB GDDR5 that works fine.
2) VTX Radeon HD 6670 1GB GDDR3 that does not works under AmigaOS.

The Asus (1) has the problem of being double size.
I must give up both the PCI-e 4x and 1x, the 4x because is occupied by the video card, the 1x because I must use the onboard Sata port to attach the hard disk.


If the Asus board works fine you might want to investigate a ribon riser for the PCI slot.

Image

If this is the card it looks like there's enough space for one of these will fit at the same time.

Image
User avatar
RobMattin
 
Posts: 107
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 11:23 pm

Re: VTX Radeon HD 6670 1GB GDDR3 not working

Postby Spectre660 » Thu Oct 30, 2014 11:15 pm

Dual slot RadeonHD 6670 with pcie riser waiting for a Sam460 motherboard.
You need a long enough cable on the riser to go to a position 4 slots down and over the PCI and PCIEX1 cards.
This cable is 30cm long.

http://www.ameri-rack.com/ARC1-PEVX16A2-Cx_m.html

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 5751ZF6655
Attachments
RadeonHD_2.jpg
RadeonHD_1.jpg
Last edited by Spectre660 on Tue Nov 04, 2014 3:35 am, edited 1 time in total.
Spectre660
 
Posts: 1489
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 3:16 pm
Location: Montserrat

Re: VTX Radeon HD 6670 1GB GDDR3 not working

Postby virgola » Sat Nov 01, 2014 5:35 pm

@Spectre660
What you are doing is indeed what I was planning to do.

I am using the dual slot video card using the internal SD card, so dropping the use of the hard disk.
I've attached the cdrom to the usb port using this:
http://www.chinatraderonline.com/USB-Pr ... 110500601/
User avatar
virgola
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2011 6:24 pm
Location: Bergamo, Italy

Re: VTX Radeon HD 6670 1GB GDDR3 not working

Postby Spectre660 » Sat Nov 29, 2014 3:36 pm

Just to update. This solution is indeed working.
The 30cm cable on the riser loops nicely over the PCI sata card and Pciex1 sound card.

virgola wrote:@Spectre660
What you are doing is indeed what I was planning to do.
/
Spectre660
 
Posts: 1489
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 3:16 pm
Location: Montserrat

Next

Return to Platform: AmigaOne 500 and Sam series

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests