BUG: Text entry field (Create new drawer) cloaks character

A forum for general AmigaOS 4.x support questions that are not platform-specific

BUG: Text entry field (Create new drawer) cloaks character

Postby Raziel » Sun Nov 04, 2018 12:37 pm

So, today i've found a REALLY strange bug, really...even for me that is a creepy one

Steps to reproduce:
1) Go to RAM:
2) Bring up the Pull Down Menu and choose "Window" -> "New drawer"
It is important that you don't change the size of the "Create new drawer" window.
If i resize the window by one pixel the character is displayed again
3) Inside the "Create new drawer" window type or c&p this: "0 123456789 123456789 y"

You'll see that the last character "y" is not printed/drawn/seen

Now go to that entry field and once you have your cursor OVER the "y" character AND
press "Cursor right" once more "y" will vanish into oblivion.
Going back to where "y" is in the field will bring it back.

That wasn't the strange part though ;-)

The strange part is, that this vanishing character problem ONLY affects "y", "x" and "v"
(lowercase, the upper case pendents does not showcase this problem)

I'm not sure about the reason, but it "might" have to do with drawing the characters in the entry field.
Because of the width of mentioned characters they may probably touch the border of the entry field
right at the position before the field moves the first character out of sight to display the next one
(in our case mentioned characters)

I'm really interested in the reason and a fix :-)
If slaughterhouses had glass walls, everyone would be a vegetarian. ~ Sir Paul McCartney
-
Did everything just taste purple for a second? ~ Philip J. Fry
-
Ain't got no cash, ain't got no style, ladies vomit when I smile. ~ Dr. John Zoidberg
User avatar
Raziel
 
Posts: 917
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 5:00 pm
Location: a story that hasn't been written yet

Re: BUG: Text entry field (Create new drawer) cloaks charact

Postby tonyw » Mon Nov 05, 2018 12:53 am

It sounds like a gadget problem. Try changing your font size and see what happens. I think that smaller characters might allow more (characters) to be fitted into the gadget field.
cheers
tony
User avatar
tonyw
AmigaOS Core Developer
AmigaOS Core Developer
 
Posts: 1385
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 2:36 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: BUG: Text entry field (Create new drawer) cloaks charact

Postby Raziel » Mon Nov 05, 2018 1:46 am

tonyw wrote:It sounds like a gadget problem. Try changing your font size and see what happens. I think that smaller characters might allow more (characters) to be fitted into the gadget field.

Yes, just like i wrote in my OP, changing the size of the input window makes the effect go away and of course changing the size of the system font does so too, but i can resize the input window and bring the effect back again, even with a bigger font in place.
If slaughterhouses had glass walls, everyone would be a vegetarian. ~ Sir Paul McCartney
-
Did everything just taste purple for a second? ~ Philip J. Fry
-
Ain't got no cash, ain't got no style, ladies vomit when I smile. ~ Dr. John Zoidberg
User avatar
Raziel
 
Posts: 917
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 5:00 pm
Location: a story that hasn't been written yet

Re: BUG: Text entry field (Create new drawer) cloaks charact

Postby nbache » Mon Nov 05, 2018 1:55 pm

It looks like I can reproduce it in a public system, but not in a beta one.

It may be because of different font settings, or because it was fixed in beta.

Unfortunately I can't experiment further right now.

Best regards,

Niels
User avatar
nbache
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 1387
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 8:25 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

Re: BUG: Text entry field (Create new drawer) cloaks charact

Postby Raziel » Mon Nov 05, 2018 8:51 pm

@nbache

You know what, don't go away, you are going to be my official confirmation beta tester...right about...now! :-D

Did the fonts changes in beta (updated fonts maybe, new sizes, other fonts used as default?)
You could try to resize the width of the window pixel by pixel (LCTRL+LALT+LAMIGA with the mouse pointer on the windo's resize gadget and press the right cursor button to resize the width), that way i made it happen even after changing the system font size.
If slaughterhouses had glass walls, everyone would be a vegetarian. ~ Sir Paul McCartney
-
Did everything just taste purple for a second? ~ Philip J. Fry
-
Ain't got no cash, ain't got no style, ladies vomit when I smile. ~ Dr. John Zoidberg
User avatar
Raziel
 
Posts: 917
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 5:00 pm
Location: a story that hasn't been written yet

Re: BUG: Text entry field (Create new drawer) cloaks charact

Postby nbache » Mon Nov 05, 2018 11:00 pm

Theoretically I could, but as I said, I can't right now (because I'm pressed for time for other reasons, sorry).

The only thing I can add is that I believe I have chosen some other fonts (various DejaVu fonts) and sizes in my Fonts prefs in beta (which is the system I use daily) than in the public system (where - almost - everything is left as default for reference).

Best regards,

Niels
User avatar
nbache
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 1387
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 8:25 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

Re: BUG: Text entry field (Create new drawer) cloaks charact

Postby Raziel » Tue Nov 06, 2018 12:25 am

@nbache

If it helps, here are my Font settings

Workbench icon font: DejaVu Sans Oblique/16
Drawer icon font: DejaVuSans Oblique/16
Drawer text font: DejaVu Sans Mono/17
System default font: DejaVu Sans Mono/17
Screen font: DejaVu Sans/18
If slaughterhouses had glass walls, everyone would be a vegetarian. ~ Sir Paul McCartney
-
Did everything just taste purple for a second? ~ Philip J. Fry
-
Ain't got no cash, ain't got no style, ladies vomit when I smile. ~ Dr. John Zoidberg
User avatar
Raziel
 
Posts: 917
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 5:00 pm
Location: a story that hasn't been written yet

Re: BUG: Text entry field (Create new drawer) cloaks charact

Postby nbache » Tue Nov 06, 2018 12:33 am

Same fonts here, but sizes are 14, 14, 16, 16, 16.

Best regards,

Niels
User avatar
nbache
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 1387
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 8:25 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

Re: BUG: Text entry field (Create new drawer) cloaks charact

Postby Raziel » Tue Nov 06, 2018 2:15 am

Yeah, i adapted the sizes to my screenmode (2560x1920) as my eyesight is not getting better with age.
If slaughterhouses had glass walls, everyone would be a vegetarian. ~ Sir Paul McCartney
-
Did everything just taste purple for a second? ~ Philip J. Fry
-
Ain't got no cash, ain't got no style, ladies vomit when I smile. ~ Dr. John Zoidberg
User avatar
Raziel
 
Posts: 917
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 5:00 pm
Location: a story that hasn't been written yet


Return to General AmigaOS

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests