8GB partition format FFS v46 AmigaOS3.1.4 genuine A2000

A forum for general AmigaOS 4.x support questions that are not platform-specific

8GB partition format FFS v46 AmigaOS3.1.4 genuine A2000

Postby Gilloo » Tue Oct 09, 2018 7:29 pm

Hello,
I'm testing the new AmigaOS3.1.4 on my A2000, 2MB chip, 4MB fast, 68000
It refuses to format a 8GB partition with FFS. Error validating <my partition name> not enough memory available.
Is is "normal" or not ?
So I use pfs3aio instead...
Gilloo
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2018 1:54 pm

Re: 8GB partition format FFS v46 AmigaOS3.1.4 genuine A2000

Postby thomasrapp » Tue Oct 09, 2018 11:01 pm

All versions of FFS have the issue that they need a lot of RAM to build the bitmap. As a rule of thumb you need ca. 1 MB of memory per GB partition size.

What's new with 3.1.4 is that it actually tells you what the reason is instead of just sitting there with an unvalidated volume.
User avatar
thomasrapp
 
Posts: 270
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 12:22 am

Re: 8GB partition format FFS v46 AmigaOS3.1.4 genuine A2000

Postby marley » Wed Oct 10, 2018 5:23 am

I’m thinking of installing new Workbench on A2000 is it easy
Anoth to install, is there a install disk? Some kind of ADF file’s
Or do I need to wait until it is relseased on Floppy’s?
marley
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 1:24 pm

Re: 8GB partition format FFS v46 AmigaOS3.1.4 genuine A2000

Postby Gilloo » Wed Oct 10, 2018 10:14 am

marley wrote:I’m thinking of installing new Workbench on A2000 is it easy
Anoth to install, is there a install disk? Some kind of ADF file’s
Or do I need to wait until it is relseased on Floppy’s?


The AmigaOS3.1.4 is working fine, better than 3.1 for coping big amount of files from workbench.
A lot of gadget rendering bugs have been fixed (ScreenMode for example...)
I just notice this problem with FFS, but Thomas has answered on that point (pfs3aio is better :( )
Rather than trying to store the entire bitmap somewhere in memory, why not split it into several chunks, and write/read them in a LRU scheme ?

Return to the subject...
The archive contains 6 main disks
Workbench3_1_4.adf
Extras3_1_4.adf
Fonts.adf
Locale.adf
Storage3_1_4.adf
Install3_1_4.adf

and another disk to transform 3.1 ROM into 3.1.4 in memory (still working the machine is power on)
ModulesA2000_3.1.4.adf

There are also ROM images for WinUAE and for burning a true ROM.

To transfer these adfs, I use an usb disk (formatted in pfs3aio with WinUAE) and tsgui to copy on true floppy disks.
http://aminet.net/package/disk/misc/tsgui

A lot of AmigaOS3.1.4 programs (perhaps all programs) are working with 3.1
The ROM 3.1.4 is not mandatory to use AmigaOS3.1.4
With WinUAE, the package for A2000 68000 is also working well with uaegfx and Picasso96.

I was expecting this update since a long time.
Gilloo
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2018 1:54 pm


Return to General AmigaOS

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests