DiskImage Device Newer than AOS4.1Upd1...

A forum for general AmigaOS 4.x support questions that are not platform-specific

DiskImage Device Newer than AOS4.1Upd1...

Postby Belxjander » Mon Jul 20, 2015 9:33 am

Has anyone else run into any version locking up the display where the mouse continues but intuition updates stop when the DiskImageGUI program is launched?

I recently tried this on 4.1FE and have had this as a long standing problem of my setup.

I did once before try to debug it however only the 4.1upd1 installation version is stable for me.

I also tried MediaToolbox with diskimage.device directly with the same results,
an immediate Intuition graphical lockup... also terminating mouse response after clicking...otherwise mouse movement remain unimpeded.

I'mnot certain as to what exact resources or why the lockups occur, only that it is consistent for my setup.

Does anyone else have this as an issue?
Belxjander
 
Posts: 276
Joined: Mon May 14, 2012 11:26 pm
Location: 日本千葉県松戸市 / Matsudo City, Chiba, Japan

Re: DiskImage Device Newer than AOS4.1Upd1...

Postby jaokim » Mon Jul 20, 2015 4:59 pm

Yes, I've experienced that. I think it's due to a corrupt gui.prefs file, if I'm not mistaken. There should be a thread on it somewhere here. The fix is to remove the faulty gui.prefs and re-create te settings. I think a simple re-save wasn't enough.
User avatar
jaokim
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 89
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 1:41 am

Re: DiskImage Device Newer than AOS4.1Upd1...

Postby Belxjander » Tue Jul 21, 2015 4:30 am

jaokim wrote:Yes, I've experienced that. I think it's due to a corrupt gui.prefs file, if I'm not mistaken. There should be a thread on it somewhere here. The fix is to remove the faulty gui.prefs and re-create te settings. I think a simple re-save wasn't enough.


I only have the gui.prefs from the old and new discs left to try...

Worst case is I'll revert the diskimage.device itself... as I have confirmed the lockup to occur inside the diskimage.device code directly...by accessing it from Media Toolbox directly and not the DiskImageGUI tool that comes with it.

I'm also going to strip it back and test one file at a time hand instalation from the new disk again.

I am going to guess I have missed a dependency that I need and the gui.prefs file is not directly related to this lockup.

(the other thread is the DiskImageGUI tool and not diskimage.device if I am reading it correctly?)
Belxjander
 
Posts: 276
Joined: Mon May 14, 2012 11:26 pm
Location: 日本千葉県松戸市 / Matsudo City, Chiba, Japan

Re: DiskImage Device Newer than AOS4.1Upd1...

Postby Srtest » Sun Mar 06, 2016 12:04 am

Got it also after switching themes and behold - if it is Amiga then the bug is weird:

In GUI preferences under Gadgets=>General>Background texture - if you don't have a texture (the default theme has one) and just use a solid color then DiskImageGUI crashes!
User avatar
Srtest
 
Posts: 240
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 6:06 pm


Return to General AmigaOS

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests

cron