Bug in MediaToolbox 52.12

A forum for general AmigaOS 4.x support questions that are not platform-specific

Bug in MediaToolbox 52.12

Postby ZeroG » Fri Oct 25, 2013 2:47 pm

Hi, I have found a bug in MediaToolbox 52.12 (15.02.2009).
In the "editing partitions for disk -something-" window it is not possible to add a new partition into the free space between two other partitions.
It's only possible to add a new partition to the end of the disk.

mtb.png
(92.95 KiB) Downloaded 458 times
User avatar
ZeroG
 
Posts: 118
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 12:31 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Bug in MediaToolbox 52.12

Postby xenic » Fri Oct 25, 2013 4:52 pm

@ZeroG
It seems to work for me. I click on the empty space between partitions and select the "Add partition" button. The empty space then becomes a default (DOS/3) partition and I can adjust the size and change the filesystem.
AmigaOne X1000 with 2GB memory - OS4.1 FE
xenic
 
Posts: 1155
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 1:06 am

Re: Bug in MediaToolbox 52.12

Postby ZeroG » Fri Oct 25, 2013 6:07 pm

@xenic
Thanks.
I tried again and it seems that is possible to add a new partition between dh0: and dh2: but not between dh2: and dh12:.
User avatar
ZeroG
 
Posts: 118
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 12:31 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Bug in MediaToolbox 52.12

Postby MichaelMerkel » Sun Oct 27, 2013 6:45 pm

i tried to reproduce this... without luck.
i created a new partition with space before and after. resetted.
then treid to create partitions before and after that one. worked 100%.
maybe quite special to your partition layout?

maybe if you can post a mountlist or so? someone can retest this? of course an emtpy hard disk would be needed - i don't have one here :-(

regards...
michael
Michael Merkel :lol:
(Member of Amiga Freunde Pfalz)
User avatar
MichaelMerkel
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 339
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 3:08 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Bug in MediaToolbox 52.12

Postby tonyw » Sun Oct 27, 2013 11:13 pm

It works fine on my machines, I use it often to create a partition with space on each side (for safety). Just click in the empty space first, then click on "Add Partition", as Xenic said.
cheers
tony
User avatar
tonyw
AmigaOS Core Developer
AmigaOS Core Developer
 
Posts: 1349
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 2:36 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Bug in MediaToolbox 52.12

Postby ZeroG » Mon Oct 28, 2013 1:13 am

@MichaelMerkel
I have created mountlists for all partitions, a text version of the RDB and some new screenshots.

So wie die Sache hier liegt brauchst du keine leere Platte, versuch mal das (aber nicht auf speichern drücken...)
- alle Partitionen entfernen
- eine neue Partition anlegen die ca. 1/4 der Platte einnimmt, der unterer Zylinder sollte beim tiefst möglichen Wert +1 liegen
- rechts eine weitere Partition anlegen die ca. die hälfte der Platte einnimmt und diese ganz nach rechts schieben
- jetzt versuch beim restlichen 1/4 der Platte eine Partition anzulegen und gucken was passiert

Same text in bad english:
You do not need a empty harddisk, try this (but do not press save ...)
- remove all partitions
- creating a new partition, about 1/4 of the harddisk, the lower cylinder should be the lowest possible value +1
- create another partition about half of the harddisk and move it to the right
- now try to create a partition in the remaining 1/4 of the harddisk

MTB.zip
(296.27 KiB) Downloaded 111 times
User avatar
ZeroG
 
Posts: 118
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 12:31 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Bug in MediaToolbox 52.12

Postby A3000T » Sat Nov 02, 2013 1:17 pm

ZeroG wrote:@MichaelMerkel
Same text in bad english:
You do not need a empty harddisk, try this (but do not press save ...)
- remove all partitions
- creating a new partition, about 1/4 of the harddisk, the lower cylinder should be the lowest possible value +1
- create another partition about half of the harddisk and move it to the right
- now try to create a partition in the remaining 1/4 of the harddisk


You are correct. It seems I can't create a new partition between two other partitions if there is an unpartitioned area on the far left of the disk. I'll file a bug report about this if someone else hasn't done so already.

Kind regards,

Dennis
User avatar
A3000T
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 8:03 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: Bug in MediaToolbox 52.12

Postby ZeroG » Sat Nov 02, 2013 1:45 pm

@A3000T
Thank you.
User avatar
ZeroG
 
Posts: 118
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 12:31 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Bug in MediaToolbox 52.12

Postby Belxjander » Wed Feb 05, 2014 1:29 pm

I have also run into this problem.

Now that I know about it I can make a workaround


EDIT: I managed to find a solution...

When Media Toolbox refuses... select the left most area of the disk and create a partition there...
After that (no initial free space) It *will* let you make a new partition elsewhere (you can delete the temporary partition afterwords or leave it as non-automounting)

I however had other problems turn up which has seen me shift to a new HDD anyway.
Last edited by Belxjander on Fri Feb 07, 2014 3:44 am, edited 1 time in total.
Belxjander
 
Posts: 276
Joined: Mon May 14, 2012 11:26 pm
Location: 日本千葉県松戸市 / Matsudo City, Chiba, Japan

Re: Bug in MediaToolbox 52.12

Postby salass00 » Thu Feb 06, 2014 10:47 am

This bug should be fixed in the latest SP_Engine which I've just uploaded for beta testing.
User avatar
salass00
AmigaOS Core Developer
AmigaOS Core Developer
 
Posts: 509
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 4:12 pm
Location: Finland

Next

Return to General AmigaOS

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests